Twilight above Azure Waves / Racing Against the Sun(set)

in #photography3 years ago

RA025318-HDR_2.jpg

Yesterday I had some errand , after which I wanted to ride to take pictures of the sunset above the Mediterranean sea from the cliff above the shore in my city of Herzliya, Israel.

Because I'm always late, I got out of my house at 15:30, heading the other way from the sea, to buy much needed medicine, while knowing that the sunset according to google is at 16:36. A tight timetable, but I like the challange!

There’s something very mentally exhausting in racing against the sun disappearing beyond the horizon, especially in the city where one moment you’re at the top of the hill and you can see the sun has 20 minutes to go, then you’re at the bottom and it seems it’s already dark.

So in the 7KM ride from the pharmacy to the sea, there are various points at which I think “Well, I missed it. The sun has set, I can go do 180 and ride home”. But I didn’t give up, I pushed myself beyond my limit, my thighs were burning, my prosthetic leg was making fart noises as I cycled faster and faster. I didn’t have my phone on me (and I didn’t know if it’s at home or I’d lost it on the way, fun times!) and no watch so didn’t even know if I was going to be there on time. My only guide is the sun, which by the time I was close to the beach, was no longer visible. This is the first good picture from the first vantage point I picked:

RA025295.jpg

It's a nice scene, cool colors, feel like I'm in a "Wordart" title come to life (you know the one I'm talking about), why not, this is a good place for a selfie :|

RA025301.jpg

Sorry I meant Selfie :)

RA025308-Enhanced.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98