How To Make Uramaki In 9 Frames (or more)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I had an urge for Pad Thai. I made my way to "China Class" which is a well-established Asian Cuisine restaurant in Herzliya, Israel, with authentic feeling and incredibly dim lighting to match. This is not the guy who made my meal, but he did his craft where I could see, and one thing lead to another:

As enthusiast photographer with good and compact gear (Olympus Pen Lite), I grew bored from looking at my phone, mustered up the courage and asked the waitress...

if I can take few pictures of the cook responsible for the sushi, she told me sure as long as I ask the sushi maker himself, which I did, and he didn't mind, so I took my trusted EPL7 out of my smallish bag and started snapping. The authentic dim lighting didn't help me focus, and being starved I forgot to set ISO so the camera went for the dreaded 6400, but I believe this set of pictures by itself is sufficient to guide you in making Uramaki with sushi mat, provided you know how to make sticky rice and the bonding agent that binds the seaweed and the patty…

I wrote these caption as someone with limited prior knowledge in regards to making sushi, though the last time I did anything of that sort was when I was 14, which was more than 10 years ago, so excuse me if I don't get the steps exactly right…

Sushi maker getting to it:

Forming a not-really-rectangular patty:

Top it with seaweed (420 yisss) and add green thing:

Adding another green thing, though you can use any colored edible thing you want, really, go wild. French fries? Sure. Fish Sticks? The best thing ever. But raw fish is the most legit:

And then you need to start rollin':

Squeeze it:

Bop it:

Cut it (mix upgrade it):

Cutting it into rolls to create the illusion it's plenty of food and not just cucumbers covered with sticky rice you dip in very salty sauce:

And most places sell just rice which is great just as is with some FREE taryaqi sauce. That's how I roll anyhow, but here it is getting ready to be sent away:

And that's how you make Uramaki, and you can speculate on how you make other types with these pictures, way to go!!!

Bonus:

Raw Salmon:

Raw Not Salmon:

This place sure have not just opened shop, evident by the worn brass plating on the refrigerated display:

One of the waitresses saw my passion and asked for a picture with the cook, but I can't share that as I don't have permission from them (or know their names :| ) but I'll try and get it so I can complete the set.

Hope you enjoyed this silly howto as much as I enjoyed shooting editing and writing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17