Get Out and Shoot

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_0181.JPG
All too often I see people excited because they just got a new "pro" camera and feel that they are ready to become photographers. They spend alot of money on their camera and expect that kit lense and auto setting to give their images that pro look.
It just doesn't work that way. My best advice is to use what money you feel comfortable with dedicating to this wonderful hobby on a decent lense selection. Camera bodies change from year to year but your lenses will last a lifetime.
Think about the image you want. Get out of auto mode and into aperture priority for the "blurry" background or shutter priority to freeze birds in flight or give running water that silky look. The camera will adjust the other settings for you. Pay attention to what the camera does and soon you will be shooting full manual with ease.
Most of all GET OUT AND SHOOT! As often as possible. As with anything on life the only way to get better is to practice, practice, practice.
IMG_0184.JPG
This was our driveway to the Moosehead Lodge cabin my buddy and I rented on my first trip to his home of Western North Carolina. I drove by this tree a dozen times and finally had to get the shot.
Moments like these are EVERYWHERE just waiting for someone like you to capture and hang on your wall for a lifetime of memories.
I look at the winding road and am reminded of my nervousness for driving the mountain switchbacks and how after 10 minutes that nervousness turned to excitement as I became a natural.
I'm reminded of the peacefulness of sitting on the porch with my morning coffee watching the Smoky Mountain Rain drip from leaf to leaf as it makes its way to the river.
This is a wonderful hobby and I get excited when others tell me they got a camera. I always offer my knowledge and even offer to take them out to shoot and learn with me. Unfortunately I've yet to find any of these people with the passion that I have for photography.
Get Out and Shoot!

Sort:  

Congratulations @acclivity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01