You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Analysis of #Photography July 17 – Steemit-Business-Intelligence

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Great post, on probably my least favourite tag! Mainly cause i feel it's used as a dumping ground for shitposts. Can we get a word count on the blogs in this tag? I would say most come with < 20 words. I'm sorry but this isn't a blog in my opinion.

I see new users and SP rich users just chucking photos up willynilly and it doesn't interest me at all, no matter how good the photo may be. Describe the photo, the setting, location, and what it means to you, and i might be a little more convinced.

However, in case i do resort to this tag, i'll remember to also tag with beautiful, day, and incredible :)

Thanks for another awesome stats blog!

Sort:  

thanks for the feedback @abh12345. A word count on this tag would be good. Like youtube videos I also feel this tag can be a dumping ground.

On saying that, I was pointed out to me before, just because it is not my thing....many photographers want the pictures to speak for themselves...

many photographers want the pictures to speak for themselves...

Well i suppose so. I let the lack of words on these posts speak for themselves ;)

I'm sorry but this isn't a blog in my opinion.

Steem isn't a blogging network. Blogs are one thing that can go on the Steem blockchain, but there's all sorts else that can go there as well. Heck, not all of it will even be visible on Steemit.com. custom_json is now the third most used operation with 11% of all operations. The word "blog" does not appear in the Steem Whitepaper

Fair point.

As a steemit user though, phrases like 'Your voice is worth something' on the login page, and 'Submit a Story', for me lean towards writing and blogging.

I read recently that photos are starting to put a bit of strain on resources, nothing to worry about just yet i hear, but if Steemit takes off......... anyway, i see what you are saying (minus the custom_jason ;) )

The only data that actually goes into the blockchain in 99.9% of these posts is the url, so it can't constrain the blockchain. Users can put raw file data into the blockchain if they deliberately chose to, but it would consume their bandwidth quickly. Probably isn't even possible for users without large stake.

I did not know this. You are full of really useful info on steemit!

Cool. No excuses not to upload some saucy photos then ;)

p.s. how am i doing with my delegated SP? I suspect a lack of voting power towards a certain tag!

You're doing fine LOL. I use this site to review: http://steemreports.com/

what the hell! I'm sending 7.9% of my votes to the daily dose!!!!!!!!

Do we have Steemit whitepaper? This 'blog' is the analysis of words and picture posts commonly named 'blogs'.

Pretty sure there isn't. Steemit.com is the flagship application of the Steem blockchain, but the blockchain itself is for building a financial network that enables more than just Steemit. It does set expectations but it is narrower in scope. Using an analogy, Halo was the flagship product on the XBox platform for years, but it would have been unduly limiting to mean that then only shooter games like Halo should be made for XBox.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43