BANGALE : MY BEST SIX HOURS OF 2017 (PART I)

in #photography6 years ago

Bangale is a small village in the East African Country, Kenya. A few months ago, I traveled to this village and spent 6-7 hours, walking around, from one corner to the other, some were amazed by the camera wielding tiny guy and some, well lets just say they weren't hospitable as such but at the end of the day, I left equally amazed by what I saw and perplexed by the much that can be done to improve the lives of my own people.

Bangale, sits in Tana River County bordering Garissa County in the North Eastern region of the republic of Kenya. (More on this region in my next post)

IMG_0225.png

Rustic feeling, more like the wild west (from what I saw in the movies), semi arid land, dusty and the sun shines bright and super heated. I came to document faces, images and experiences that can live with me for the rest of my life, tell stories of the people I met, the corners I took and how I saw a water bridge built in the colonial times that is still standing tall in the midst of dark times of tribal cocoons and clan blood shed.

The first person I met was a man, in his 50s perhaps, in another world he'd probably be a therapist, that's maybe why he is the IMAM (Person who leads Muslims in prayers), Coming my way, instantly knew this was my perfect first frame, "can I take a picture of you?" I asked.

IMG_0230-Recovered.png

"Wait my boy, I don't look that good", He responded with a broad smile, "You look perfect", I continued, seeming a little settled, a small talk ensued, being late in the evening, about 6 PM EAT (East African Time) it was time for evening prayers, and he was headed into the mosque compound, after a short chit chat, I wished him all the best and we were on our way, running against time, I had a distance to cover before the sun went down.

IMG_0227.png

It is 6:30 pm already, my guide, by the name Ibrahim kept on feeding my curious mind, in the village, footpaths connected one homestead to the other, on our left were traditional Cushitic houses, and you could see girls and older women doing chores, all dressed in traditional gowns also Cushitic, the rest of the villagers weren't exactly what you'd call traditionalists, so that begs the question, what was their deal?, So I am told, they don't speak Swahili or English, which are the two languages mainly used after the local tongues, they all the time speak their native language, and their code of conduct, traditionally speaking is protected, so no pictures for me, as much as I was left speechless.

END OF PART ONE

Sort:  

Congratulations @abdisalam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @abdisalam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43