Morning Photography - New Brighton Pier

in #photography7 years ago

A few weeks ago I got up a couple of hours earlier before work to take a sunrise photo out at New Brighton Pier in Christchurch. Fed my dog, got ready, was extremely excited to head out the door with my camera, bag and tripod. I jumped into the car and drove 15 minutes out to the pier.

As I got closer the sun was already starting to rise and the sky was overcast as the sun hid behind it all. However I set my tripod up and took this shot below.

This was shot at f18 with a 13 second exposure. As you can see the pier is under construction due to the earthquakes in 2010 and 2011. They are strengthening those pillars one at a time.
New Brighton Pier_1.jpg

This was shot at f30 with a 30 second exposure.
New Brighton Pier.jpg

Let me know which you prefer, the first or the second? or neither of them, I'm happy with criticism :)

Have a fabulous day!

Sort:  

your photos are very beautiful. I prefer the first one because I like to see reflection altho the water doesn't always cooperate.

Aww thank you! Yeah I prefer the first one too. All my friends like 50/50, so its interesting to know what people like on here as well. Your photos are also very beautiful too! and that is the beauty of photography, we all have different ways of seeing the world.

That's so true. I never thought of it that way. Photography is subjective then, like art, or writing. I like that.

wow niceeeee♪( ´▽`)

I like two of them !
But probably it would be better to do less exposure on second one .
;-)

Thanks man! Yeah I like how everyone has their own opinion :) I really like the sun peaking through the clouds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66