Some do say that " Life is a Beach " well it sure is in the Canaries )

in #photography-trail7 years ago (edited)

lifes a beach.jpg

Life’s a Beach © Patricia polka

At the beach, life’s different.

Time doesn’t move,

Waves crash the ocean front,

Kissing my feet.

Sea glass glistens in the sun,

The warm air dances around me

Giving a new start to the world.

The sand tingles under my feet

Like being tickled by love.

Laying on the beach shore,

Tanning the day away.

The tans may fade,

But memories

Never do.


What a beautiful day it has been and what a Lucky Guy I am !


I have been living now since 2010 in these wonderful Atlantic Isles of the Canaries !! One year in Gran Canaria and then as I was leaving for the Carribean, a chance roller rigging failure on my boat forced me to pull into the bay of Vueltas on the South West coast of the Island of La Gomera !!

The weeks that i deliberated whether I should leave the Canaries and head off to the Carribean as Ihad origionally intended gave me the time to dicover this Isle, its people and life!

So in short I ended up staying and now this beautiful little island I like to call my home !


The Canaries was voted awhile back as having the best weather in the world ! With delicious temperatures averaging 27/28 degrees all year round. The highest amount of sunlight hours in the world averaging 345 days a year !! Beats the grey of England and France to which I am accustomed I can tell you )

The climate is dry and not at all humid , so thankfully for me there are very few mosquito,s ! No poisonous spiders or snakes on the land either . No killer sharks in the coastal waters, the most dangerous thing in the sea here being the sting of the jelly fish known as the Portuguese Man of War !

Life is Good in short )

Today we went to a lovely cove and spent the day bathing in the sun and swimming in the delicious waters, so warm right now ! Here are some photos from our day on the beach to give you all here on Steemit an idea of the sort of lifestyle Canarian people enjoy most !

Believe you me, that here on my island " LIFE IS A BEACH ! "


IMG_1391.JPG

This beach had the highest population of our canine friends Ihave ever seen ! Their crazy ball chasing pandomonium kept us all very amused throughout the day !

IMG_1392.JPG

IMG_1393.JPG

IMG_1397.JPG

IMG_1427.JPG
Happy People enjoying the Sun and Sea )

IMG_1424.JPG
pretty girls ocourse )

IMG_1426.JPG then maybe a nice cold Margherita or a Mojito at the little bar which over looks the sea ?

IMG_1434.JPG
As the day ends and the heat falls, soon the Sun does its usual Daily Trick of Melting into the Horizon to the West !

Heaven is a Day on the Beach in the Canaries!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69