A trip up into the mountains gives me an opportunity to show you some breathtaking landscapes on my island of La Gomera ! !

in #photography-trail8 years ago (edited)

Today I drove to San Sebastian the main town of my island, situated on the other side of the island from my hometown of Valle Gran Rey !! Here are some photos of the mountains here ! I hope you agree that the landscapes here are tremendous despite the rather cloudy weather i experienced this day up there !

" I was little more than half-a-day’s travel from wet-and-windy London, and just 50 minutes by ferry from the egg-box apartment resorts of southern Tenerife. But standing spellbound on the side of that mountain, on the lesser-known island of La Gomera, I felt light years away from the chaos and brashness associated with the Canary Islands’ more obvious tourist destinations. Bathed in sunshine and silence, with only sea, sky and nature for company, I could have been in a different century."

Quote taken from a nice article i found on the net which gives you some nice info concerning my island of La Gomera !

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/spain/canary-islands/la-gomera/articles/La-Gomera-the-Canary-island-that-time-forgot/

It can get pretty wet up in the mountains, as all the warm air which has travelled across the warm Atlantic to the North rises and condenses to produce thick cloud and sporadic but short lived rainfall !

but despite this, for here foul weather i was still able to bring you the following landscapes which i hope show you the breathtaking views available to all that come to this Island known as La Gomera.

This last photo shows you the town of San Sebastian lying just beyond in the distance. In the far off horizon can be seen the island of Tenerife which is 48 nautical miles from my island yet one can see clearly the tip of the huge volcano known as "Telde" which is extremely high measuring 3500 meters above sea level . Let,s hope it sleeps awhile longer eh )

Sort:  

Hello @gomeravibz,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

wow that is so awesome of you to vote my post this way ) I am so thrilled , thanks so much guys )

That so awesome @hilarski that you have chosen my post to represent steemit in the twitter environment !! thanks so much, I hope my post shows to people there that Steemit is the best place to find quality posts of interest diverse !! Steem On to higher new users numbers my friend )

Beautiful! You are a lucky man!

why thanks @thelightreports !! yes i suppose i am yes ) thanks for your nice comment man !!

You're welcome - I'm green with envy- referencing those plush scenes of mother Earth!

Wow yes really, its true ive been here now 5 years and well its become my home and possibly the place where i will lay my bones ) thanks for your support and being present on my comment section !! Love that video you made, we must keep an eye on beauty if we are to defeat the ugliness in this world !! Power to you @thelightreports

To you as well my brother- please send me those plush, rich Gaia energies that I feel in your pics- I am operating within the heart of the cancer that afflicts us all- inside the beltway of DC- fighting hard but hoping to live in peace with my fellow beings and this magnificent being planet in the not so distant future : )

yes i know you are and i shall do my best to supply with a plentiful supply of good energies and light from here !! We all need to work together doing what we do best to ¡defeat this evil so prevalent sadly in our midst !! Be assured that you and I indeed share the same hope )

Wow, beautiful pictures! :) Beautiful Earth.

Yes indeed the earth is a beautiful place ,especially here on my island !! thsnks for stopping by and letting me know your feelings on my photos !! luv you @whatsup ! )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34