You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography-101 – My Lessons Learned - 4

in #photography-1016 years ago

Yes, a 6 inch wide image at 72DPI would be a problem for viewing well on Steemit. That would make it around 4.5 inches high, and at 72 DPI, you could not view it larger without a problem.
Steemit would upsize it and make it look bad. 6x4.5 at 100 DPI would show the actual size of around 6 x 8 at 72DPI, which is adequate for Steemit if you don't want to show a full screen version of it. So, you could resize it at roughly 8 x 6 at 72DPI and it would be exactly the same as you are doing by making it 6 x 4.5 at 100. If you do it in 72DPI , you know exactly what size image will be the optimum viewing size. I make most of mine larger, so that they can be clicked on to see the full size on screen. I didn't do that with these. I usually just do it when I'm showing a single photo.

Have a great weekend! :-)

Sort:  

Steemit upsizes pics? Whoa. I thought they just use the size you upload...

Thanks for the info. 😀👍 And happy weekend too.

I believe I was wrong there. I reduced an image to a very tiny size and uploaded it without publishing it. The image stayed tiny in the preview. I assume it would stay like that too once published. I'll need to try it with a post. Sometimes I want to have just tiny supporting images throughout a post, but thought I couldn't do it! Next week when I'm back in town I will try it!

Yeah, I think it stays tiny if the image is tiny. :) Alright then.

Great learning experience. Can’t wait to try it now in a post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64