You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography-101 – My Lessons Learned - 4

in #photography-1016 years ago

Wow, the iPhone is a really good phone to use for photography. I still prefer android but the pics all look good. 👍

Maybe I will go to the nearest place I just discovered a few days ago and take some pics on my phone too.

I should buy a micro sd card already. 😁

Sort:  

They are all very much downsized for Steemit too. The native shots are a very decent size, but when I can, I download them to my computer and resize them before uploading.

Yeah I should do this soon. I didn't realize I should downsize pics until a few hours ago. Ah bandwidth limit. Lol.

It’s not just that. Monitor viewing is at 72 DPI. Uploading full size images just gives away your full size work to anyone anywhere on the web!

Yeah that too. I downsize but if I do it at 72dpi sometimes the quality gets bad so I use 100dpi...

It would depend on the size of your image, not just the DPI. Screen resolution is 72DPI, but you need to have an image that is big enough to fill a good portion of the screen. If you have an image that is 72DPI, but only 2" x 3", anything bigger than that on the screen will be pixelated.

What camera are you using, and what software to make the downsizing? A full size image is the same size whether 72DPI , 100DPI or 300DP unless you choose "Resample" in Adobe Photoshop. Changing dimensions or DPI does not change the data in the image. I do mine at 72DPI and Resample the horizontal image at 25.5 x 17 inches! I make sure it is large enough to view on a large monitor if need be. Does that make sense?

The original image without any downsizing from my DSLR camera is far too huge for web use, (78"x52" at 72DPI, or 18.72 x12.48 at 300 DPI) but large enough to print huge canvas prints to hang on a wall! Even the images from my iPhone 8Plus are too big for web use at 56" x 42". I hope this helped and that I didn't confuse you. LOL!

I use my smartphone to take pics. And use Photoshop to edit images. I just do 100dpi then choose which size I want. Like if the width is 32" then i make it around 6" and then the height will follow. That's it. 😉

It's ok. Didn't confuse me at all because I do it all the time.

Best explanation for newbies though. Thanks!

Yes, a 6 inch wide image at 72DPI would be a problem for viewing well on Steemit. That would make it around 4.5 inches high, and at 72 DPI, you could not view it larger without a problem.
Steemit would upsize it and make it look bad. 6x4.5 at 100 DPI would show the actual size of around 6 x 8 at 72DPI, which is adequate for Steemit if you don't want to show a full screen version of it. So, you could resize it at roughly 8 x 6 at 72DPI and it would be exactly the same as you are doing by making it 6 x 4.5 at 100. If you do it in 72DPI , you know exactly what size image will be the optimum viewing size. I make most of mine larger, so that they can be clicked on to see the full size on screen. I didn't do that with these. I usually just do it when I'm showing a single photo.

Have a great weekend! :-)

Steemit upsizes pics? Whoa. I thought they just use the size you upload...

Thanks for the info. 😀👍 And happy weekend too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64