Dragonfly - nature's mosquito eradicator

in #photographs6 years ago

I was out working in the garden when I noticed a dragonfly land on one of my potted ferns. I ran inside and grabbed my camera, hoping it would still be there when I got back outside. Lucky for me, it hung around for quite a while.

I love having these insects flying around because they catch mosquitoes and eat them. I don't hate many things, but I hate being bitten by those bloodsucking mosquitoes! It wouldn't be so bad if they just took a little blood, but that itching after they bite can drive you crazy.

Anyway, enjoy the colours of this lovely specimen.

IMG_4296.JPG

IMG_4301.JPG

Proof that the photo is my own.

IMG_4299.JPG

Another image with my username, but the name is a bit washed out so that I could show the dragonfly a bit better.

IMG_4300.JPG

By the way, that spindly plant behind the fern is immature asparagus I grew from seed. It looks more like Dill or Horsetail at the moment because these are in the first year. It takes 3 years to get your first harvest, but I read that these plants can live for more than 50 years and send roots down 6 feet!


TextDivider1.jpg

Sort:  

I see alot fly in water places and have mixed colors i called this helicopter lol

Yes, they fly over ponds because that is where mosquitoes breed.

very cool. and very pretty a like the blue part on his back.

Thank-you for your comment.


Congratulations @happyme!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wooo hoooo... I'm now a dolphin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64