Most Extravagant Eccentric Artistic Music Festival in the World X100 = Burning-Man 75,000 peoplesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photographs8 years ago (edited)


Here is my burning-man story and pictures the above picture was my favorite structure built there for the week and burnt at the end:

Burning Man has 10 principles and most of the 75,000 people that go agree with and try to follow these principles. It was such a pleasure to spend 7 full days with such like minded people. Displaying $10 - $30 million dollars worth of art.

Radical Inclusion: Anyone may be a part of Burning Man. We welcome and respect the stranger. No prerequisites exist for participation in our community.
Gifting: Burning Man is devoted to acts of gift-giving. The value of a gift is unconditional. Gifting does not contemplate a return or an exchange for something of equal value.
Decommodification: In order to preserve the spirit of gifting, our community seeks to create social environments that are unmediated by commercial sponsorships, transactions, or advertising. We stand ready to protect our culture from such exploitation. We resist the substitution of consumption for participatory experience.
Radical Self-reliance: Burning Man encourages the individual to discover, exercise, and rely on his or her inner resources.
Radical Self-expression: Radical self-expression arises from the unique gifts of the individual. No one other than the individual or a collaborating group can determine its content. It is offered as a gift to others. In this spirit, the giver should respect the rights and liberties of the recipient.
Communal Effort: Our community values creative cooperation and collaboration. We strive to produce, promote, and protect social networks, public spaces, works of art, and methods of communication that support such interaction.
Civic Responsibility: We value civil society. Community members who organize events should assume responsibility for public welfare and endeavor to communicate civic responsibilities to participants. They must also assume responsibility for conducting events in accordance with local, state, and federal laws.
Leaving No Trace: Our community respects the environment. We are committed to leaving no physical trace of our activities wherever we gather. We clean up after ourselves and endeavor, whenever possible, to leave such places in a better state than when we found them.
Participation: Our community is committed to a radically participatory ethic. We believe that transformative change, whether in the individual or in society, can occur only through the medium of deeply personal participation. We achieve being through doing. Everyone is invited to work. Everyone is invited to play. We make the world real through actions that open the heart.
Immediacy: Immediate experience is, in many ways, the most important touchstone of value in our culture. We seek to overcome barriers that stand between us and a recognition of our innerselves, the reality of those around us, participation in society, and contact with a natural world exceeding human powers. No idea can substitute for this experience.


This is me and my VW Van.


It took us 2 days to drive to Black Rock City in Nevada from Nelson British Columbia. I stayed at a camp with at least 50 other VW's.


Above is a life size stained glass replica of a whale. It has whale sounds being played 24 hrs per day. It was one of the most amazing art pieces.


Another incredible piece of art. There were people climbing all over this huge boar and even hanging from the tail.


My camp site. The vents are covered because we are in the desert and prone to deadly dust storms. The tent is where I stored my 11 full costumes.


People bring motorized art cars as they are a great way to get around. Most people also bring a bike to get around. The following are a variety of art cars:










Above was a giant art car vacuum actually driving around very cool in a dusty place.

The following are more art displays:







This was just someone's camp. I would guess that there were over a thousand different theme camps. Remember there is no buying or selling anything and every camp usually had music and alcohol gifted to everyone. The main theme camps would have the best DJ's of the world show up to gift their talents and release their next years music.


Me being grateful certainly was one of the best travel weeks in my life.



I am standing by the space cats that were near the end of city limits. I spent lots of time out there thinking that I would meet the most energetic and fit people which I did. I met one DJ from Brazil that gave me 12 hours of his music on a thumb drive.


I was taking a picture of the mountain in the background as the sun was making the middle of it look like a marshmallow and this car drove by.


The front porch drove by.


There was a group of crows each as tall as a man. I did see two crows actually flying around and I saw three dragonflies in the seven days. No other insects or animals.


Had a nice dance with this blond from Sweden.


Had sexy time with this beautiful lady.


These are giant Tesla coils for you scientists.


This was center camp and I forgot you are allowed to buy coffee and ice here.


Me out and about.


A picture of about 5% of the camp from a perch.


Most people are in elaborate costumes for the week.


The night lights up with art cars, bikes and stages all over the city of 75,000 people.


I was invited to this wedding the day before and while I was trying to find the place ran into these two people having sex in an art display. I being snoopy slowed right down and heard the guy say "do you have a pen"? Being experienced in my sexuality, not shy and having a pen said yes. I dropped my bike and jumped in with them. He quickly finished and pulled up his pants. She smiled and was very at peace. I gave him the pen as he wanted to write their names on the wood art around us. They asked me my name. I gave out my playa name and thought a good way for them to remember it was to show them my tattoo. My playa name and tattoo is a greenman and is on my pelvis. I pulled my shorts down enough to show them my tattoo and that I was excited to be there with them. He said, wholly you have a big cock. I said thanks and asked her if she was still excited. She looked at him and said are you ok with this and he said enthusiastically, yes. So she played with me a bit but we were all a bit too nervous to do much more and it was middle of a hot day with people floating near us. We all signed our names on the wood hugged and went our ways. I headed to the wedding that was an hour late.


This art car had a couple in the back and I asked the lady if she wanted to be in the picture. As you can see she said sure. Do zoom in.


Lots of beautiful people and costumes. I enjoyed myself very much and would highly recommend burning-man to all. It truly does have people that understand radical inclusion, radical self reliance, de-commodification, radical self-expression, community effort, gifting and participation.

I am new to blogging and have been on Steemit since July please read my other posts or my last article. Both originally blogged on Steemit and picked up by news websites. It looks like my articles are now going to be running on three websites: The Last American Vagabond, TheDailyCoin and Silver Doctors with combined views over over millions per year. My last blog on Steemit.

If you enjoyed the pictures, story and art please re-steemit so others can enjoy as these posts get buried fast.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Here is my article on blockchains.

Sort:  

Wow i look at your blog and I'm embrassed about it. I like your content. Nice stuff !!!

Wasn't that just so much fun? Maybe in the next year or two I'll have my Westy fixed up and we can convoy down for some more of that. Nice pics. Did a lot of documenting I see?

Yes convoy would be fun also looking for group to drive into Mexico together.

Same people are commenting on this 9 month old article every few days and draining the reward pool.

burning man is awesome, i will visit it next year

Wow ,this looks supet great,all your story ,all photographyd. I wish I had chance to visit event like this ,respect for sharing this article ,upvoted 🙂

Really great seeing your photos from the 2016 Burn. Thanks for sharing @greenman Dusty Hugs

Mind blowing pic and story, thanks for sharing! @greenman

AMAZING PIC...... @greenman

Oh no Is It real ? I think it's only happens in "mad max" movie.......
And are You regularly join with them ?
OMG... You are really change my thinking.
Truly, today I first time really surprised............

tenor (1).gif

such world different amaizing music festivel it look lik holywood Madmax movies i shoked to see this world amaizing music festivel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50