SQUADRON OF PELICANS

in #photograph7 years ago (edited)

The most common names for a group of Pelicans is a squadron or a colony. Also used, but not as common are a pod or a scoop. Pelicans are found on every continent except Antarctica, although they primarily inhabit warmer climates.
Pelicans are very large birds with very large bills. Males are generally larger than females with larger bills. The largest Pelican is called the Dalmatian. The Dalmatian can grow up to 6 ft. long with a max. wingspan of almost 10 ft.

I took the photograph's at the dock of the Island Seafood Market in Matlacha, FL. ~ Paradise Found

All original to Paradise-Found
Thanks for visiting, please follow, comments are free.


Sort:  

Fun photos and a great spot to get seafood at the market.

Very good excellent story friend very good photos

Cute little creatures :)

Thank you Alex!! They are also very photogenic!! lol

Great photos of the birds and great facts , learned something new on this beautiful Sunday :D

Thank you my friend Farwa, it was pretty cool to see so many pelicans at the dock!

They look so big - I would be so scared 😳

Naah, they didn't bother us at all.

Cool photos! :)

Thank you @photonerd! Have you been to Matlacha?

I have not. We are trying to figure out where we are going on vacation this year. I'll suggest this!!

I visit there and get seafood when visiting Grandpa in Cape Coral. It is on the way to Pine Island. My guess is your drove by and didn't stop. I always go there for excellent seafood each trip.

Photos are great here as always, like your vision :)
Keep it up!!

Thank you so much my friend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99