Wish I Were Born Yesterday

in #photograph5 years ago

Guy Sellars - Santa Susana Depot - Truck.png

Sometimes I think I would have been happier if I was born at the turn of the century. A simplier life, maybe. The truth is I like nostalgia. Old cars, barns and yes even trains. But who could live without Google!

Photograph by Guy Sellars - Southern Pacific.png

Taking a few minutes out of my schedule, I dropped by the Santa Susana Depot. Unfortunately the musem was closed, but I was able to soak up the ambiance during lunch.

Guy Sellars - Santa Susana Depot - Truck Photo Mine.png

The depot was built in 1903 by the Southern Pacific Railroad and was in service for about 60 years. And replicated for those of us who long for days forgotten.

Sometimes you just need a change of scenery, even if it is just for lunch.

Sort:  

Congratulations @guysellars! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.
You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I guess it was so nice to live in the past century knowing the generational mentality and life style was not stressful.

Nice post i remember my granny days old picture.

Thanks @jmceniza. Well it was a different stress. And remember the past century held major wars which I would say were very stressfull. But there is a romance with the past that I like to cling to.

The reward of this comment goes 100 % to the author guysellars. This is done by setting the beneficiaries of this comment to 100 %.

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

This place looks awesome, where abouts is it?

Hi @sarahskitchen. Just a little whistle stop in the nothern Los Angeles suburbs.

The reward of this comment goes 100 % to the author guysellars. This is done by setting the beneficiaries of this comment to 100 %.

Regards appreciated @guysellars.

It is always good to remember our roots. Know where we came from Appreciate our past in an intelligent way. Although many times nostalgia catches us.

All best, Piotr.

There was a life before Google. I think I would have felt happier or I should say more at home then. Nothing wrong with a simple life and you still had mail... and more time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @wakeupkitty. Thank you for taking the time to comment on my posts. It is very much appreciated. Yes, a simple life sounds inviting. But, I'm not sure I could live without my computer, lol.

I think I could... with an owl and more time to do as I like

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56456.73
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13