SELF PORTRAITS - Some tips and what I look for in portraits

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

I love seeing portraits that really do a great job of helping me understand who a person is. So for this assignment this week I would love to see pictures that simply tell me: who you are in a picture.

Optional Text

Not looking for crazy tricks

Doesn't have to be amazing shot or tons of photoshop or crazy cool tricks. I want to see a nicely taken picture that does this job. There are plenty of sides to me and this is one... out in the middle of somewhere cool with my PhotoDeca beanie a coat and some twilight skies and a nice smile (like my other two) that makes people feel comfortable, like "hey, that guy is alright to be around."

A PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHER'S OPINION

I can write volumes more on this subject and I'll add it to the list of things to do... but suffice it to say I am a portrait photographer by profession. I have done this for a living for 10+ years. It's what I love to see.

My favorite compliment when taking pictures for people is for a friend of theirs to comment: "That is so you"

I want people to really see their friend (you) in the picture, not just what they look like but for someone to understand who they are through the picture. Or recognize their friend. Be it cell phone shot, photoshopped masterpiece or a nice self portrait on a tripod.

I want to recognize you in the picture... good art is great and that will be rewarded but to me a portrait is what I've said. And so my additional points and my rankings for the main points of this @photogames assignment will sway in that direction. I won't dock you for being creative and abstract I'll simply be keeping an eye out for those who share pictures that their friend would see it and say ... "that's so you" ... also i'd like to see it not blurry and taken nicely.

LAST NIGHT WITH A TRIPOD
And with that I think this is me.
I set up a tripod last night as a secondary thought and took a self portrait.

My big tip is to have someone or something stand in in order to get the focus. Then lock it and stand in that exact same spot. If you have a nikon use interval timer so you can get a bunch of pics with different poses and facial expressions.

Optional Text

IT CAN BE QUICK
This was about 10 minutes of my time from taking the pictures to selecting to editing. Sure I was somewhere pretty epic and that helped. But i'm also worried everyone thinks they have to spend hours doing some crazy project to do well at this assignment. You don't. 20 people will get awarded... there aren't even 20 people who've done their blog posts yet.

Optional Text

Ok now out of the three of these which one should I make my new FB profile picture?? haha

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 22:35:53
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 567.91/800.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 69
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like the last one the most. Great smile and more spontaneous feel to it. But why are you wearing only 1 glove? :)

Photographers hate gloves :P

some people like symmetry though ;)

Symmetry is overrated. Only imperfect symmetry is cool nowadays, didn't you hear?

I have never been famous for following trends ;)

I use those fingerless thingies and am lucky to almost always be warm, but yeah, gotta be able to push those buttons and/or swipe screens :')

Because I couldn't find the other one.
It was fine it was cold but not that cold.

Lol, if I couldn't find my second I would have just left them both, I would be distracted by having one warm(er) and one cold(er) hand, haha!

One hand to carry around the cold tripod the other to stay warm in the jacket

Thanks for this :-) I'm not a portrait photographer, but I am going to try my best. This game is actually the most dependent on 'what photo star will I 'apply' my picture too'?, so I've decided to go with what I want to make or else I'll go crazy.

These shots are all great, but even though I don't know you I feel photo 3 might be the 'most you', maybe because it's the one that's least composed :-)

We're all judging them... but each of us does have a few extra points to give out.

Haha yeah probably 3 is the most me... but 1 was the most eye catching for a thumbnail right? haha

YES! But... If you crop the photo 3 smartly, you could put the pic both as a header and a profile pic and the profile pic with the crop of you in it would overlay the header at the right spot, it would look kind of amazing and everyone will be jealous :D

(Gosh, I'm tired, my English doesn't get better from that, but I'm trusting you're a visual person too and understand what I mean :'))

Wait so should i just use 3 as the FB header? Is that what you're saying?

Yes AND a cutout with ‘you’ as your profile pic from the same pic. So your profile pic and header image are ‘one’ again.

I’n not behind a computer or I would have showed it in Photoshop :’)

I'm not entirely sure what it entails... but if it gets the girls to fall in love with me... I'm game!! haha

Great post and hope it inspires more submissions!

We don't really know you but the first one looks very friendly for Facebook 😀 at this point we have our images ready, but the post isn't, Spanish and English posts are half fun and half nightmare, talking about markdown, but we'll get it done very soon, @photogams can count with our participation. Thanks for your advices!

Well i speak both ... haha

I like the first one for a profile pic! And I see you already agreed, haha.

I agree the last one is the best!

Some nice shots. Its a great challenge in this weeks photo games.

I like the first , and the last picture, you have a lovely smile :)

I like the last photo... you seem more relaxed to me, more natural, like you belong where you are! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66946.15
ETH 3488.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22