You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY STYLE - A strategy guide for the #photogames “Who Took It Wednesday” game

in #photogames6 years ago

There was. I got shot in the stomach with a rubber bullet. Thank God it was just a big bruise. (The guards used real bullets on some protests, also screws and glass marbles) I was lucky. So I decided to not go up front anymore, mostly because of my 3 year old son. Almost all of my photos are portraits from a little behind the line of battle, besides, that part has to be documented too. But it's nice to feel like you are making a difference.

Sort:  

:(

I think your photos from behind the line of battle are even more powerful. Unfortunately, because we've seen so many violently-contested protests from all over the world on the news, the "action scenes", so to speak, are all too familiar, and while they're incredibly important to the people in them, they're hard to identify with. It's the moments that happen between and outside the line of battle, as you put it, that really tell the story of who the people are, what they're protesting and why.

Exactly. That was my point. I tried to spread their word and feelings through my photos, to tell their story, not just the apparent story that everyone sees, but the story behind that crying face.

Well, you definitely succeeded.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44