You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY STYLE - A strategy guide for the #photogames “Who Took It Wednesday” game

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

Wow. Okay, a couple of things stand out:

Your processing is top notch. The "look" of your photos, the way you compose and process them is consistent and natural but also colorful (except when it's black and white) and contrasty without being "punchy" or overdone. Personally I like the subtle soft look that your portraits have - a bit of glow but not too much.

The other thing I noticed in a few of these is that you like to shoot through things and create natural framing with your composition. You're not just photographing the subject, you're putting the subject into a scene to give context but are still using that scene to frame the subject. It's really, really good work.

How long have you been taking photos seriously?

Also, don't just leave us hanging with a statement like "I saved a kid's life with a photograph," unless of course it's something you can't or would rather not give details about! :o

Sort:  

@derekkind Hey! I talked a bit about that in my introduction post. But I'll give you the main story. During the protest, many students got imprisoned just for protesting, they would cover their face to remain unidentified because a lot of them would be persecuted and taken to jail. Lot's of them got tortured in ways I think Steemit would ban me if I wrote them and others got lost in the system because the family would not even be notified. Some are still in jail as of today.

There was one kid I took a photo of right before the national guard took him. As soon as I found out, me and my colleagues made his photo viral. Thanks to this his family found out, and the pressure got so high that eventually they had to let him go. He looked me up on instagram right after getting out and thanked me personally for this. There where many other times when the guard would get over aggressive with the protestors and as soon as we arrived with the cameras they would back out. Our camera was really a weapon they where afraid of. I never really imagined a photo could be so powerful. You read about it, but living it is something else.

Ahhhh. * raises hand * I'm guilty of not reading all of your text in the welcome post!

That is an amazing story. You think of all the photographers out there - how many can actually say they've had a profound and direct impact on someone's life with their photography?

It's also interesting to hear the power of just being there as media. I'm glad it is that way, though that would make me think there would be extra danger for you behind the scenes. :(

There was. I got shot in the stomach with a rubber bullet. Thank God it was just a big bruise. (The guards used real bullets on some protests, also screws and glass marbles) I was lucky. So I decided to not go up front anymore, mostly because of my 3 year old son. Almost all of my photos are portraits from a little behind the line of battle, besides, that part has to be documented too. But it's nice to feel like you are making a difference.

:(

I think your photos from behind the line of battle are even more powerful. Unfortunately, because we've seen so many violently-contested protests from all over the world on the news, the "action scenes", so to speak, are all too familiar, and while they're incredibly important to the people in them, they're hard to identify with. It's the moments that happen between and outside the line of battle, as you put it, that really tell the story of who the people are, what they're protesting and why.

Exactly. That was my point. I tried to spread their word and feelings through my photos, to tell their story, not just the apparent story that everyone sees, but the story behind that crying face.

Well, you definitely succeeded.

I come here from the photo game, and I'm touched by this story. I feel sorry for what your country has been undergoing. I visited most countries in South America when living in Chile, but when I planned to go to Venezuela from Colombia, almost all people around me advised against it considering the special situation. I would still love to visit it one day and see it with my own eyes. How is it going there now?

Thanks for reading and commenting. Even though I understand, it's sad to know so many people stay away from Venezuela because of the current situation. We have so many beautiful places to visit. I hope things get better soon so you can all come and get to know us better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48