Waterfall Photography tips and tricks

in #photofeed6 years ago

Tips

Lately I have done more of a waterfall photography than landscape. I must say it isn't easy as it looks, when most people think of waterfall photography they are like alright shutter speed 1 second and i'll get that smooth looking waterfall. Well this is not the case. Having such big time on camera causes many problems. So here is a quick guide what you need to be careful and how should you prepare for this type of photography.

  • When we photograph waterfalls light is not that important, it's better if there is low light so we don't have to use ND filters but we can do this type of photography when sun is bright but ofcourse we will have to use ND filter. I prefer to use polarizator for better colors.

  • Make sure to have something with you to wipe the lens/filter. Water always causes this problem and you don't want water drops on your photo !

  • Tripod is a must for such long time. I heard there is rule that you shouldn't do photos without tripod below 1/60 seconds (shutter speed) because it will cause bluriness. I always prefer using tripod since i want my photos to be sharp as possible. Actually i always set timer to 2 seconds so when i press the button on camera to take photo i have time to move my hand from camera and then it will take a photo.

  • I highly recommend that you make seperate pictures for waterfall and everything around it. There is always wind etc. and if you have camera set on shutter speed above 1 seconds wind will cause to move leaves or anything that is around waterfall and this will make objects blurry in picture.

Those are some tips and tricks from me for waterfall photography.

slap-trbovlje.jpg

CategoryLandscape
Aperture11.0
Shutter speed2.5 s
ISO100
CameraSony A6000
LensSamyang 12mm F2.0
FilterPolarizator

This picture is great example of me breaking/forgetting one rule that would make a big difference in this photo. I only took one photo with 2.5s shutter speed so that made that green flower in right bottom corner blurry. So the last rule i written above was broken and makes this picture look amateur.

I am glad I always learn something new. Photography is long process of learning. Ofcourse you can watch and read many tutorials online but you need to experience this on field. So keep photographing and you will keep getting better.

Sincerely,

Weber Logo.png

Sort:  

This truly looks unreal! like really unreal! Thats how astonished I am as how you captured such an image of nature in great detail. Simply Amazing.

Thank you!

Nice interesting post ;)

Thank you !!

Congratulations @weberh8! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Congratulations @weberh8! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

How would you combine the photos later - long exposure waterfall and the surroundings? Photoshop? Or any other tool?

By using masks and brush in photoshop.

As you said - photography is learning, learning and learning =) Not just taking photos, but also in "post production" =)

I'll look into these. I don't know much about Photoshop, only some basics, but thank god we have YouTube!

Photoshop is wonderful. Ever since i learned how to use it, it changed my level of photography :) Post production has huge role if you want to have artistic photos. But ofcourse the composition,timing and camera settings should not be ignored. Photography is never endless learning process and i love that

Yeah i am using Lightroom to post edit contrasts and colors and it makes a huge difference especially on photos from my old Sony compact camera :) I'm thinking about buying a mirrorless in the near future and i am trying to "collect" some knowledge in advance :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98