Toying with the anamorphic crop

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Lately, I have been doing a lot of research on anamorphic style, both in videography and photography.
And here is my first photo with this crop, even that I just scrached the surface today.

FB 19April-1876-Edit.jpg

What is it?

According to Wikipedia: "Anamorphic format is the cinematography technique of shooting a widescreen picture on standard 35 mm film or other visual recording media with a non-widescreen native aspect ratio." Today, this is normally achieved by using a projector lens, to stretch the image and then use software to compress it back so you obtain a 2.40:1 ratio. Sadly this adaptor costs more than 500 euro, from what I've seen. 😅😅

Can't you do it in photoshop?!

You can do anything in photoshop if you have the skill! End of story! But you can also make yourself a cardboard with a hole in it. If you want to learn more about this click here for a youtube video on it. I'll make one and promise to update you on it.

Where am I going to use this kind of photos?!

I have no idea yet 😪😪. Clearly Instagram wont like it, Facebook will make them minuscule in the news feed and to be honest this kind of photos only look great if you look at them fullscreen, but when you do the magic is real. So if you have any suggesstions for my problem, let me know in the comments section

Sort:  

expensive accessory.. 500 euros. ouch!

Youp, not planning to buy one of those in the near future😑

Does your camera have that crop option? The 5D does 3:2, 4:3, 16:9 and 1:1. So nothing close to the 2.4:1

I don't think any DSLR has that option. I don't even know if my D7000 has any crop option, to be honest. But in photoshop or Lightroom you can do whatever you want

oh of course. But sometimes it helps with visualising in camera.

What i was thinking about but then deciding against it was using ductape on my screenprotector. But since i'm on a crop senzor i decided against it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:08:08
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 545.25/800.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.39 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Yes! More of these please. I always love 2.40:1 in Cinematography and often crop my landscape photos in that ratio. Love your anamorphic portraits!
The solution to your problem is to become a Cinematographer. ;)

cinematography is more of a team game and to be honest i am more of a solo player myself

Awesome solution! And I quite like the narrative possibilities the anamorphic style lends itself to. Thanks! Great content, as always :)

exactly, even tho composing in this format is quite hard i cant wait to try it again and explore it's posibilites

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94