Orca are in fact dolphins!

in #photofeed6 years ago

This does come to the surprise of many people that Orca are in the fact the largest of the Dolphin family. However, if you do in fact spend time with them in the wild you do begin to see a few behaviour familiarities.

They do love to play! They socialize and jump around one another and when a large ship passes that has a decent size wake - then you can bet they are going to surf it and play around whilst the opportunity is there.


IMG_0732.jpg
K21 aka Cappuccino surfing the wake of large freighter ship, which just cruised by & he just playing

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

That is good news, it sounds a lot better then killer whale.

The name killer whale was from the Spanish who named them balena assassina - means whale assassin. I prefer the term "Ocean Panda"

Ocean Panda, Cool I like that, I will use that from now on too. Never heard it before.

This is a very interesting article, and I did not realize that orcas can be as nice as dolphins. Thank you for new informations @thomasjmitchell 😊🐬

my pleasure! Thanks for taking the time to check out my post

They couldn't be called killer dolphins, that would give the cute dolphin a bad rep ;) haha. Lovely photo mate

cheers! doesn't have the same ring to it too. I prefer "Ocean Pandas" to be honest

I've never heard that, but im digging it

Sensational picture!!

Thomas, do you happen to record a video of Orcas behavior?
Some patterns you described should look magnificent being recorded in motion.

I do my best to. it can be difficult at times to record video at the right time to record certain behaviours

Wait...whaaaat? I had no clue! And I absolutely adore orcas! I guess everyday is a schoolday...thanks for sharing that trivia..and the picture, of course, which is absolutely stunning!

Thanks! I do love learning too :)

I had no idea they were part of the Dolphin family.. Interesting... He's beautiful...

He is one of my favourite whales to interact with in the Pacific North West.

What an am amazing photo. I love seeing the orcas happy and healthy in the wild!

I like dolphin
Your post is amazing

Follow me please
Thank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56