You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Best Milky Way I've Ever Seen - Yosemite National Park

in #photofeed7 years ago

Great shot. I'm a fairly good photographer when it comes to daylight/sunset landscapes and wildlife, but I just cant seem to nail astrophotography.. I bought a lens that allows me to get to maybe F/1.4 or so, but my shots just don't look like yours, or many other similar photos that I see. If retouched, how do you do yours? And do you only go during the times when the moon is new? Hoping you can help me out aha. Thanks :) @aweber

Sort:  

Hey man! Yeah, with astrophotography you really have to be in the right place at the right time to get good results. This is the best I've ever gotten. Other times, either the clouds/light/pollution/moon etc can mess with your stars. Check this out for finding good spots. http://darksitefinder.com/maps/world.html.

As far as the editing goes, the biggest thing I would say is to use your tone curve to accentuate your mids and that helps bring out the stars quite a bit. Hope this helps!

Cool, thank you for the advice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66