You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Story from the 90's

in #photofeed6 years ago

Must be so weird to witness such a shift.
My stories from the 90s might talk about my first Nintendo or the first World Cup that I saw (USA ‘94), the first time I heard the name Maradona.
Movies stories like the first time I saw Pulp Fiction or Jurassic Park... but to be honest they all seem very inappropriate considering the picture that you painted talking about your country in those years.
How did the “adults” react to all those western models and influences? Did they provide some kind guidance or were they a bit unprepared themselves to deal with their “new” country?

Sort:  

Hey man! It wasn't all bad, of course. I also played Nintendo and Sega Mega Drive games with my friends; the difference was that we had to rent them as we didn't have money to buy our own consoles. I also remember watching the World Cup in the USA where Italy beat us in the semi-final. I think Roberto Baggio scored twice 😁 We also watched all those movies - on pirated cassette tapes, of course!

A lot of people that were the age of my parents at that time (between 30 and 40 years) fought for having democracy, so even though they were probably not entirely prepared for what was about to come, they wanted the change. However, my grandparents and many old people simply didn't want to accept the situation, so they kept supporting the communist party because they wanted the good old times to come back.

The communist period and so-called democracy that came after it are very complex topics. I have been thinking about creating a post about them, but I don't know if I will be able to be objective enough.

Well, for what it’s worth (wich in my case is literally a couple of cents on a good day), I think you should.
Who cares if it’s not biased. At least you are aware of it and not pretending to be. This type of insight is very interesting and unique. I would read it for sure.

Thanks for the feedback, Valerio. You are probably right - I shouldn't care much about being biased. I will certainly create a post or a series of posts on communist and post -communist Bulgaria.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44