thoughts from October 25th

in #photofeed6 years ago


How much?

Consider your medium: how would you appreciate its value? The question is loaded, as it’s difficult to say, naturally. To quantify something intangible is a mighty task.

A personal evaluation brings a simple conclusion. My work is ‘good’, and its creation is ‘fast’, but this isolates the idea of ‘cheap’ – meaning my work has a decent cost. The other two scenarios are lacking in that I omit either ‘fast’ or ‘good’; yet I refuse to make either of these assumptions.

Aside from the real cost of printing, I think a variable, unique to all my pieces dictates a quantitative value for my work. Thinking in terms of a model: value is a function of the effort and time, multiplied by the difficulty with the added cost of printing.

Value = (effort + time)(difficulty) + cost of printing

Steering away from the algebra, I’d rather have a consistent rule of thumb than an algorithm for the arithmetic. The portraiture comes from a desire; I only wish to share the style of my vision, because to deny it, is a waste.



Sort:  

You got a 7.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for our witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65