Sort:  

Thanks scottrogers, LIghtning can be as hot as 54,000 degrees which expands and compresses the air around it creating a shock wave which produces thunder. The more intense the energy is the louder the sound will be. It appears larger than it really is.

I have been close enough to a lightning strike for these things to happen:

  1. In an instant before the strike, the hair on the back of my neck stood up
  2. There was no delay between bolt strike and thunder - it was simultaneous.
  3. I heard a "sizzle" right before the strike, I assume was a sprite from the top of the utility pole that was struck...I was about 15 feet from the pole.
  4. I was doing electrical work at the time with my hand holding a hot 120 volt wire. The storm was still approaching the area and it wasn't raining yet.
  5. I had to swallow my heart back down and go change my drawers.(not really but you get the idea) lol.
  6. I don't ever want to do that again!

good story you were lucky you didn't get hit. If your hair stands up a lightning strike is imminent and you should lay flat on the ground. The sizzle was probably the leader going up from the ground to meet the one coming down from the cloud. lightning sprites are a recently discovered phenomena and is energy moving up out of the top of the thunderhead into the upper atmosphere at the same time a positive flash moves from the cloud to ground. Thanks for the reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67710.07
ETH 2614.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67