You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Waddell Beach and Waddell Creek by Drone

in #photofeed6 years ago

Don't be embarrassed, we are all learning here. Sometimes the lessons are more expensive than others, unfortunately.

Before I read your story, I was experiencing a severe case of drone envy. I used to live down the coast from you a ways and was just up in Carmel for a bit last week. I have always wanted to see that coastline from a drone's perspective. I don't think they are legal to use there though but such is my mania.

Your shot is gorgeous and wish you success with your new drone.

Sort:  

Yeah, that was a thousand dollar mistake! But lessons were learned and thus is life. The legality of drones is very grey area, technically speaking once you are above 100 feet only the FAA has jurisdiction on where you can and can not fly. The local laws can only apply to taking off and landing. Personally I don't worry about it, I stay away from the big FAA no fly zones like military bases, airports, and national parks. Other then that unless there is signage saying don't fly a drone I will fly it. I plan on flying all over the central coast and Big Sur pretty soon.

I look forward to seeing your shots! I think someone told me because the Monterey Bay is a marine sanctuary drones are prohibited but I may be mistaken because I don't remember ever seeing signage. Drone on and keep bringing us the amazing views!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64