Frozen waterfall in infrared

in #photofeed5 years ago

I shot this image last year near my city at -15 degrees using an IR 720Nm infrared filter. Infrared photography is best suited for the warm, sunny, summer days when the trees are green, not for the freezing cold winter days but I thought I'd give it a shot and play a little with this type of photography.
Infrared photography is pretty tricky and demanding. If you don't have a IR converted camera you'll need a tripod because the exposure time will be well over 1 second, you'll need a remote control or cable release to trigger the camera, the IR filter of course and a lot of patience.
So, I set my camera on the tripod, framed my shot, set the lens to manual focus, focused my shot and after all that I mounted my IR filter. I use a cokin system so the setup takes no more than a minute.
This time I bumped my ISO to 5000 to get a 1/10th of a second exposure(IR filters block most of the light that's why the high ISO even in a sunny day). Due to the mist, a longer exposure time would have ruined my shot.
Processing an infrared image is quite different than with a regular shot. I inverted the red and blue channels, converted it to black and white and then I fine tuned the image using various adjustment layers and a bit of dodge and burn to emphasize some parts of the image.
This is the final result.

Sort:  

A long exposure infrared shot. The waterfall is called Brudslöjan or Skäktefallet, and is located on "Halleberg". At this time there were both ice and water which gave it a unique look. And some clouds were nice enough to pass by during the exposure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71