Elements Schmelements! - First Installment

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

DE07291D-1390-4A58-A51C-45F18D000A2B.jpeg

I’ve been participating in an invitation-only international photo workshop this year. We’re six weeks into the 21 week commitment. And while I’m not entirely sure how I feel about it, I do like what I’m producing. I can’t talk too much about it. Not yet. Which is maddening for me as an artist and a writer but I’m going to play nice.

06AA16DB-F89D-4E50-A3D2-F24EF13F3665.jpeg

So the basic jest is this: I’m given a weekly prompt with seven days to create an image which I feel satisfactorily captures and communicates the assignment fully. These aren’t cheesy prompts. I don’t have to produce work representing the color blue, for instance. In fact, I’m restricted to B&W and a square format. And no one is asking me to show them something in my kitchen or interpret a word like “fallen”.

81C588F9-42C3-4BBD-8EBE-E01E46344E26.jpeg

The prompts are supposed ‘elements’. And at this point, not only can I not tell you much more than that, but frankly I don’t really get the tie-in yet myself. It borders on pretentious. It may actually be pretentious. But I’m going to stay the course, finish the challenge, and see. There’s likely to be an exhibit at the end of the rabbit hole, too...based on the workshop’s giver/guide.

15F66328-642E-4205-AEE5-8D2FF63FF8A7.jpeg

Today I’m sharing my first six images. You may recognize a couple of them as I’ve tweaked them for other uses. However these are the pure B&W images and for most of them, the originally intended results...specifically for the workshop.

BA61D7F3-597F-4339-B186-FF33EB80ECF9.jpeg

We get a new assignment tomorrow. I’ll share results periodically. And when the exercise is complete, I’ll reveal the prompts and the bigger picture.

57E3C655-C970-4C3E-AAA3-85DF8751FE8F.jpeg

Meanwhile, I’d be fascinated to read your guesses based on my work.

Thanks!

Sort:  

hummmmm this is mind boggling
let me stare at it some more and see if I can make a guess.
But good guess by @countrygirl

smooth elements? lol
seriously I don't know. I'm losing a lot of brain cells right now trying to figure it out

Hahahahaha! It’s six entirely separate things. 😁

circles!! .... maybe :)

Great shots - loved the telephone.

Ahhhhh...circles! An integral part of the vernacular of my soul. Oddly not really essential to any of the prompts thus far. 😄

I love the phone, too. It’s hard for me to take photos and not create stories around them. Hence the repurposing.

Thanks, Deb!

My overtired brain sees, in order
Containers
impossible task
reaching out
illumination
mourning
constellations

Really nterestingly interpretations! One is pretty close.

Nice post @outrayjust

I love your second last picture of butterfly. It's awesome. All the best for your workshop!!!
Followed you for your getting in touch with your good work...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39