The dive

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

This was fun to do !

My goal was to catch a Coot with head above the water level, while diving for those alges (food). I was so happy this image turned out great.

Many of my attemps turned out like this...

To late

Much to late

So i'm quite happy with that one image. (and i only have one) You don't get many chances for a nice dive in combination with a great setting :)

Have a wonderful day !

Sort:  

Great picture! That took some patience!

It did. But it was worth it. Sometimes i do have that drive to stay and wait. The longer you wait the faster times goes by. So it's fun ;)

I see! Absolutely incredible shot. I have the feeling it's been cropped? Am I right?

You are right. to obtain a good detail in your image, your subject has to be close enough. That's my nr 1 rule.

If this Coot was like 25m away i would not even begin and try photographing ;) because i know the result will be a grainy image with almost no detail on the bird. ;) We nature photographers often use prime lenses. That means those lenses cannot zoom in. We already have to frame the object and already think how the outcome should be. A perfect framing almost never exist ;) with long telephoto lenses.
But you can make that compositon and edit (crop) it somewhat better in processing. Photographing 100% wild birds is hard and they often sit very far away. I always try to get them used to me so they come much much closer.

Just like this Coot. After laying belly flat the Coot became curious about what i did. So he moved closer and saw i was no threat.

I do crop images like everyone of us does. I always tend to keep 75% of my real image to keep enough detail on my subject because that is what i feel is important.

Hey i could even show you portrait images from this Coot. Sometimes the bird could not fit into my frame. So i just could make some headshots :)

Cropping is perfectly good with photography. It's part of post editing. I wonder why he asked?

I'm not saying it is wrong. On the contrary.. It can make or break your photo. But I'm a photographer who doesn't work after my photos. So I try to shoot the photo perfect at once, which is extremely difficult. Now I'm not furmiliar with nature photography so I'm just very curious what you did to shoot a awesome photo like this.

I once did the same. Trying to photograph the perfect image without editing. But hey. our camera's do not see what the naked eye can see... It is actually impossible to photograph a perfect image :) Dynamic range and stuff. Why do filters even exist then? My images ask like a 5 minute work in max. I just adjust the colours, contrast, a bit of sharpening, whitebalance if it looks wrong. I almost always make a better looking composition or crop (how i like it, or what is my kind of taste). I never work in layers... Just very basic correction are more than fine for me.

And I can see why. I know perfect photos do not exist, but this my addiction. Also, I'm to lazy to edit at all. Lol

ahhhhhhhhhh there was the real reason hehehehehe

(i also don't like to edit!!! can't it just be perfect from the beginning??? not just photos - LIFE!!!) HAHAHA

Hear hear!!

Congratulations @olivierc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

hahahahahaha i loved the sequencing!!!! I imagine that there are a LOT of "too lates" in the camera - but it makes the "perfect timing" shots that much sweeter!!!! hehehehe

excellent, my friend :)

hey @olivierc, I wanted to tell you that you have a chance to play in these games and earn some money... Here is the link so you can see what I am talking about:

https://steemit.com/play4anewbie/@davemccoy/play-4-a-newbie-challenge-day-1-scoreboard-and-games-to-play

play4anewbie.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37