Seascape Photography Tutorial - My Workflow

in #photofeed6 years ago

Seascape Photography can be very dynamic. With waves crashing around me the scene is constantly changing. To make the most of it and also to ensure my camera equipment stays dry I follow a certain workflow, which I want to share with you.

Over the years I've implemented a routine, which I follow when I want to take seascape photos. In parts it is similar to my normal landscape photography workflow. But photographing close to the water requires some special preparation.

A secluded cove at Anse Patates during Sunset

In the video below I explain the five key elements of my seascape photography workflow. Which are:

  • Scouting - It's always important, if I want to get the most out of a location. But when photographing at the coast it's also important because it helps me to stay safe when I'm out there in the dark before sunrise.
  • Tides - Both for safety and photographic reasons knowing the tides is essential. I usually use Tides4Fishing to get my tide tables.
  • Composition - Scouting does not only mean looking around for interesting subjects. One additional step that comes before every photo shoot is scouting with the camera, while leaving the tripod behind to stay flexible.
  • Setup - I take my time to setup my equipment well away from the water. I make sure everything is in place and I leave the backpack and all I don't need behind.
  • Photo Shoot - Many seascape scenes are very dynamic and often require multiple exposures to capture all the details. So first of all I have to stabilize the tripod so it does not sink into the sand while I take the photos. I want to get photos, which will later exactly overlap to make the blending easier. For this reason I firmly push the tripod into the sand with the lower legs extended. After 10 - 20cm it usually stops moving.

And even if your photographic routine in the field looks different than mine, it's good to have one. Especially the setup should follow a standard because then you can be sure not to forget anything. Just imagine standing in the waves, taking photos of an awesome sunset and then having a wave splash your filters. To then recognize that you left your filter cloth behind can be very annoying.

Michael Breitung Photography

Sort:  

Hi mibreit-photo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hey, thanks a lot for the boost !!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-02T18:40:00
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 488.14/800.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.77 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @mibreit-photo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77