Magic Places - Praia da Adraga

in #photofeed6 years ago

Praia da Adraga in Portugal is one of my favorite beaches in the world and maybe the one beach I photographed the most. Every time I come back it looks a bit different, the only constant are the huge black rocks jutting out of the sand.

It really makes for some dramatic scenery. Especially during sunset the light at this beach can be fantastic when the sun sets behind the dark sea stacks.

Adraga Sunset

The beach is also very exposed to the sea and on high tide the northern part of the beach is not accessible as the waves rush up to the feet of the cliffs. That's why I usually visit when the tide is a little lower.

But even then I have to be careful, because every once in a while a rogue wave comes in with the potential to submerge my equipment and me.

Adraga Afterglow

The most fascinating thing about this beach is how fast it changes. In the course of one week the amount of sand can decrease in a way that huge rocks are revealed, which were covered beneath the sand before. The same is possible the other way.

So even returning several days in a row usually doesn't get boring.

Serene Adraga

A visit to this and many other spectacular beaches in the area can be easily combined with a visit to Lisbon and Sintra, which is just half an hour drive away. And talking about Sintra, here's a little video I recorded during our last visit.



Michael Breitung Photography

!steemitworldmap 38.803716 lat -9.485112 long Praia da Adraga D3SCR
Sort:  

Your photos are beautiful Michael, glad to see such a good photographer on Steemit :)

My eyes burned.great photography

These are stunning! The rocks on the beach are beautiful!

That first shot is epic. Keep up the great work.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mibreit-photo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magic-places-praia-da-adraga


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great work! Congratulations...

Great shots of a place I've not visited during our 4 winter long-stays in Portugal (almost a year spent there in total!). We should be in the Algarve now except for some minor health issues this year. I'm not happy at all because I have a meter of snow on my lawn and freezing rain on top of everything last night, but your shots have warmed me up! Cheers!

you have possibly the most magical landscape photography I have ever seen. Landscape isn't even really my thing, but this is just gorgeous.

Beautiful! Your photos make me want to get into photography :)

Por acaso não conhecia essa praia mas em breve vou visitar! Gostei muito @mibreit-photo ! Obrigado, abraço

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13