Revisiting old photos

in #photofeed6 years ago

In between bouts of fussiness and crying today I thought I'd post on Steemit again! I'm of course talking about my daughter being fussy and crying, not me.

Looking back at some old photos, not just ones I've missed before, but ones I've already edited. This is an edit I attempted again after a couple of years. Although the basic feel of the image is unchanged. I can see in my previous work some techniques or processing that I wouldn't be happy with now.

First image is the new edit, second is the old one. My main issues with the old edit are lighting, colour saturation and contrast. Yes the wave is slightly different because they are consecutive exposures but I still call them the same image.

372-1a.jpg

373.jpg

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
16mm
F22
1/4sec
ISO50


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Both look fantastic in their own respective slightly modified/edited elements, giving such a magnificent view, as If I was standing there. The second one though, the one done earlier looks more turbulent & roaring, than the first one.

I like the second for the sky, which looks more ripe and rare! Also I the wave is a bit better. I understand they weren't the same exposure.

Yes the wave is slightly different because they are consecutive exposures but I still call them the same image.

Is there a reason you picked a different shot rather than just reprocess the old one?

I liked the detail in the wave in the new one. The old one had too many highlights. It only looks different because here I've given a comparison.
The editing of the sky I felt was a problem because it should be brighter than the rest of the image. In the old edit it's about the same tonality as the rocks, which doesn't make sense

Thank you. The whole place is crazy for waves and power. I liked the wave position in the first one and even though the second one might look more roaring, it's only because the viewer here has something to compare it to.

It's funny how images turn out. For example if we edit an image one day - odds are it'd be different if we'd have edited it on another (if that makes any sense).

Plus the more we do something the better we get. Either way both look great!

Absolutely, editing is very much mood-based. No two day's edits will be the same.

Depends on what album I'm listening to 😁

"Mood based" good way to put it!

With the limitlessness of Photoshop and endless combinations of sliders in Lightroom, I imagine it would be impossible to make the same image!

That's true!

wow awesome photo and nice concept sir...thanks for share..

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-06T03:02:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1281.28/1600.00
Total Photos: 101
Total comments: 90
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Water speed is very high

Posted using Partiko Android

It's crazy powerful there!

I'm sorry that you were crying, but I might too if I was confronted with this magnificent waterscape! ;)

I didn't cry, it was my daughter, I swear! 😋

Maybe we should all cry together, since this is such a nice shot.

Oh. Don't cry, but it's resteemed too.

There's no shame in crying! 😅😅😭

Amazing photos :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57