A tip for better photos: If you can't lose it - Use it!

in #photofeed6 years ago

I see so many images where the camera has been angled up to include a lot of empty blue sky, or so far to the right or left to avoid getting something unwanted in the photo. This destroys the possibility of a good composition. Either move to a different position to get a better composition without the obstruction or, in a case like this where you are restricted to a boardwalk, use what is in front of you as a feature of the image.

12-apostles-foreground.jpg
12 Apostles, Great Ocean Road, Australia

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
16mm
F8
123sec
ISO100


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

wow! Is it for real? or you manipulate it?
you got the good hand. :)

It is real. I use a tripod for the long exposure. Definitely not hand held 😉

hahaha!
Nailed it!

Hey, your photography is amazing man.

I tried to setup my tripod and take a long exposure photograph of the ocean once, but it was during daytime and I couldn't expose the shutter long enough to capture that silky smooth water look without the picture being overexposed.

Are you able to do long exposure photography during daytime? Or most people just do it during evening/nighttime?

P.S. I also had a polarizer filter on.

Thanks! To do long exposures during the day you need Neutral Density filters. At least a 10 stop filter for exposures over 30sec in the day.

If you're in Australia I can do you a good deal on NiSi filters as I am an official ambassador.

Ahh got you. Thanks for the tip.

Unfortunately, I'm not in Australia haha. I was studying there last year, but back in San Francisco now. Appreciate it though!

Beautiful photo. The color of water and rocks is amazing.

Thanks so much

Huge shot!!! Impressive dynamic range ;)

Thank you very much 😃

Thanks for the tip, Keiran! Great shot.

You're welcome and thank you 😁

Awesome photo! I didn't get any as good as this when I went

I've been lucky enough to go quite a few times ☺️

I envy you haha

One of the best photos I have ever seen! OMG-moment!

Wow that's a huge compliment! Thank you 😃

I thought so 😅

this is absolutely stunning!

Thank you 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71