Patagonia

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190903_082801_467.jpg

It's been a while Steem! I have enjoyed taking lots of pictures now that we are fairly settled here in Patagonia. There should be a lot more photos to come!

Edit to add: I've been away from Steem for a while and it seems to have had some changes. I'm going to have to go research to find out what's different, but definitely noticing some new things under the rewards, STUs, etc... Also promoting via @smartsteem seems to have a changed a little. I apologize for promoting this post so heavily, in a current atmosphere where that may be frowned upon. This is such a complicated place. Maybe I'll just stick to Instagram. http://instagram.com/justinmullet


Purchase my photos on Stocksy United! Stocksy United - Justin Mullet
Creating authentic outdoor and landscape photography primarily in the Western United States. Featuring a beautiful portfolio of stock photos that portray some of the earth's most peaceful and quiet areas, and portraying rural life at its best!

Sort:  

After the fork people have some free downvotes and by some coordinated efforts they are used to downvote posts that use bidbots.

Thing is that the vote-selling kind of ruins this place. The reward was meant to reflect the quality of the post as judged by the community. That principle is very much ruined if you can buy the upvote no matter what you post.

Maybe you could simply try to go for the organic approach where you get upvotes if people like your posts.

I could, but that's not really worth it to me. I was able to quadruple my Steem stake in 6 months using smartsteem up votes. Organic votes aren't really worth it because they don't add up to much, and no one outside of Steem takes this place seriously, meaning time invested here does not see any returns outside of a few organic up votes. Instagram is much more lucrative for me for now.

That was a flaw, not a feature.

It was a consequence of a broken economy that completely undermined Steem's ability to function correctly through honest voting.

I'm confused, why is self voting still available. Doesn't that go down as a flaw too then?

Aah ok. Is it fixed now? It seems like it was still working normal on Smartsteem. I did hear that Steem went down recently.

It's impossible to say if it's 'fixed' this soon or perhaps ever

But recent economic changes have made honest curation far more competitive than before (curation is now 50%) and it's less expensive to fight against content agnostic voting (self votes, vote buying, circle jerks etc) with the 25% free downvotes now available.

Some who were taking part in the content agnostic voting economy have since adapted to honest curation and many of those who remain are feeling considerable resistance in the form of downvotes rendering their exploits less profitable.

So with respect to pivoting from a broken set of economic rules, things have certainly improved across the board. Many are hopeful that they will continue to improve until the overwhelming majority of stake engaging in honest voting behavior becomes the norm.

You would get organic votes now but you need to put some effort into the post :)

I won't down-vote this post, as you didn't know. I can accept that you have been away and have not been keeping up with recent changes.

I found your statement about the others' perception of 'this place' interesting and disturbing at the same time.

Thank you, this post served as educational in jumping back into the platform after a couple month break.

Followed after reading through the comments. Steem has always been complicated and difficult to navigate. I appreciate that you were unaware the game had changed. My flag isn't powerful and I am sure you have gotten the point by now. I came here because a friend told me that felt bad that you might have decided to leave the platform due to the bad taste this post has given you. I implore you to look at the engagement and actual humans expressing their willingness to support your photos, and steem experience in general.. This has actually served as fantastic exposure for you and I hope you make the most out of the opportunity by sticking around and coexisting in a more sustainable steem..

I plan to, thank you. I have always enjoyed Steem and I'm sure I'll find a way to fit back in and start contributing again.

You're too valued around here to quit, Justin. I'll speak to the atmosphere around here changing, but people are going to resist as always. Do I think you were out of line for how much you promote your post? No. It was within your endowment, and truth be told, your actions are minor compared to some larger stakeholders who quite flagrantly farm the reward schema. As I follow you, even I knew you were gone for sometime, perfectly timed if you ask me, because all this development came about in your absence. I think a helpful comment is warranted, a sort of 'Hey, things have changed', and you handled it beautifully. Most of all, in a place like this, I hope you don't ever feel pressured to act in a certain way. You don't have any history of abuse, so I see no reason to reprimand you. Welcome back, man.

I appreciate it. I just got my laptops and hard drives after they had been on a ship for the past 2-3 months. I'm excited about sharing a bunch of photography. I guess what gets me riled a little is that people have nothing better to do than down vote people with too many rewards? I could care less how much others are making. Some of my favorite content producers on here used to upvote to the max. It's their right. @cardboard is acting like it's the same as reddit. But I don't see anyone on reddit down voting anyone because their too wealthy... I only see people down voting the actual content they dislike. Curious what they don't about this photo? Lol

Hey Justin, good to see you back! I randomly came across this and hate that this is what you had to come back to, but I think it’s important to understand that downvotes are a way to balance the shared rewards pool. So it’s not about downvoting someone due to being “too wealthy” it’s trying to break the habit of bought votes which are taking more than their fair share of the shared pool.

It’s not about the photo, the photo is beautiful. The issue is that votes were bought rather than letting the community choose how the shared pool will be allocated.

I understand things were different before and it’s a bit weird to come back to, but please rest assured it’s not about your content, rather about finding a balance of where the inflation should go.

Feel free to reach out to me on discord if you have any other questions.

Thanks, just kind of stinks that the community is so obscure and confusing for the average person. No announcements, banners or anything upon logging in again that things had changed. In the meantime looks like I just wasted 300 Steem. Seriously demotivating.

There were many announcements of the changes during but yes if you don’t know to go look for them how would you know, right?

I totally get your frustration and sent you over the 300 STEEM to replace what you lost as I know the kind of content creator you are.

Currently the new Steem is one where you don’t have to buy votes, and where organic manual curation is up.. I think if you post as you did before without buying votes you will notice a big change. And I hope you give it a try.

Oh wow, you didn't need to do that Justine. If this post ends up making anything I'll send it back. I was just in all seriousness surprised by all of this response on something I had done for months and months and never a whisper in my comments that it was "wrong", then when I was excited to be back it felt like a door was slammed in my face. Anyway, I have a new camera, living in a new continent, and have a big backlog of photos from traveling this summer to share on here.

Happy to do it. And yes I know you are just doing what you had done previously and yes previous it was just something that was accepted (even if it wasn’t ideal) due to there being flaws in the system.

There was a hardfork that changed some of the economic changes which allowed for organic curation to be profitable and therefore more appealing. So far what I have seen is a lot of great content being rewarded and much more manual curation.

Also there has been a very strong push to stop the overuse of vote selling systems as they don’t add much value. The response to that is you will see the trending page is more diverse and it is a lower threshold to get trending, and organically get there.

There have been a lot of things that have changed, including tribes where you can earn additional tokens over and above the STEEM on your content. You can see them on steempeak dropdown menu under “tribes”, but I would suggest you start using the “creativecoin” and “palnet” tags too for your photography posts. You will earn even more that way 🙂 Also you can use more than 5 tags on steempeak to make room for the tribes tags.

Give it a try. Post your stunning photography without buying votes and just see how it goes, i think you’ll be motivated by the response.

Cool thank you very much. Would the @steempeak posts be the best place to read a summary of changes and addition of tribes, or just read the Steemit blog posts?

Wow. Super kind of you to have sent him the 300 steem.

I am interested to hear your thoughts a month down the track as to how do you see it going? Seems in the right direction to me. There are still onboarding issues with complexity in bringing people over (I could count on one hand the number I have managed to bring over from 80k followers elsewhere).

Congratulations @justinmullet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved for SFR Token Issuance!

Tokens will be transferrred when the flagged content reaches payout.

Thank you for reporting this abuse, @katharsisdrill.

  • bid bot abuse
    You bought votes to increase the rewards of your post above the value of its content.

This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

What are SFR tokens?

A kind of Steem Engine token - People can make their own tokens and then use them for whatever.

Good to see you, Justin. After the recent developments, there's some hope that the price of Steem will go up.

Haha thanks Dan! :) I appreciate you sticking with me here. I'm excited to share new photos.. and you commented this before all this blew up.

Downvoted due to excessive use of bidbots

Lol okay, well if you would've actually read the posts you would understand I didn't know things have changed. But happy down voting to you and yours. I'm sure you've looked at my past posts and noticed how they are all garbage and have been abusive to Steem. Glad you feel great!

I never said anything was garbage

Looks like you missed this post from 2 months ago. https://steemit.com/photofeed/@justinmullet/Antigua-Guatemala Wouldn't want you to waste your down votes on anything but garbage content.

No. I saw that post too.. 2 pictures worth $107.. and only 5 comments? Yeah. That's #oldsteem right there

But you know I didn't make $107 right? I probably paid $102 to make maybe $5. And $5 is pretty measly for two professional quality photographs wouldn't you say? Smartsteem only pays a small percentage of profit and its not even guaranteed. Are you against others profiting? If you're acting like I made $107 than you clearly don't understand Smartsteem.

1: Nobody has an obligation to understand how much you bought your votes for.
2: You aren't entitled to a dime for your photos.

Ok.. you spend $102 for a $107 payout.. that should leave $5... right? Wrong.. this is #newsteem.. you lose 10% off the top.. that's $10.70 so you're now down to $97.. 50% goes to curators.. you make $48.50 for your $102 ... OR.. you post the exact same thing and make $5 organically and get to keep about $2.25 in profit. By downvoting you I make it more expensive to use a bid bot so hopefully the only people using them are people that don't care about the money and just want the exposure..

Yep you can still pay for upvotes and see it more as PROMOTION... but it's not gonna work as a money making strategy anymore... just for promotion. In fact I've seen posts that use paid votes state something along the lines of "I understand if you downvote me it's the price of paying for votes to promote a post".

So it's still doable to use paid votes just know it comes along with people making sure the person isn't using paid votes as a way to ROI.

Also i'm of the personal opinion that steem rewards pool isn't a solid or dependable way to make money but we're working on making SteemPeak much more interesting than steem reward pool dynamics if that's of any consequence.

Also happy to give an upvote because you didn't know that common practice kinda died a week or so ago. Good to see you back.

fun's just starting.

!neoxag 20

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97