Shooting in harsh light in the Marina

in #photofeed6 years ago

CBCD80E1-916F-447D-A6B2-CC9384F1C008.JPG

I know most of you would rather shoot at dawn and dusk, getting that perfect light to compliment your subject...but sometimes that's just not possible. Sometimes you just have to deal with the shots that you're given. When I was in LA this last time - I had exactly that problem. The only time I could get out, was when the sun was already high in the sky. (Mostly because now the sun gets up so early.) I do like going through my photos and realizing that they all look the same, because the sky is so damn blue in LA.

BAB1E1CD-5086-48FB-8031-6EA14FC89B92.JPG

Still, I think the brightness in this case worked to my advantage. It gave everything that LA 'bright' that you feel when you're walking around.

10EB97BF-7944-49D9-93C9-C2CE84226D31.JPG

Although I liked the emptiness of the court - It would have been nice to have a couple of subjects to take pictures of. I guess Marina del Rey isn't the best place for early morning hoops.

CE3E9EB6-6756-4873-819F-8F7B5478EF62.JPG

The walk from the Marina in to Venice is really nice - I do wish i would have figured out those BIRD scooters earlier though. If you're ever in the area, take some of the side streets (I wish I took more pictures) - there's lots of really cool houses long the beach.

I'm looking forward to my next trip back!

Sort:  

gorgeous pics :)

and just enough words to not overwhelm my ADHD brain :) ty for sharing

Wow, the photos look stunning. Great capture.

Nice pictures, the marina looks like a really nice place to visit. I am actually surprised by the pictures and your description of the sky being so blue in LA. I would have guessed it would be more brown or gray from smog and such. I guess that must be a misconception, or they have done a lot to improve things over the years. Thanks for sharing!

I love the blueness of the sky and the water! Awesome shots!!!

I do love taking photos of sunrise and sunset, but yes, I never thought that even just the brightness of the surrounding, I'll be able to capture the beauty of my subject. Thank you for this inspiration.

I love these kinds of places! I like the court photo, it feels really documentary, combined with the palm trees picture it would make a great diptych :D

Love the light and color of the first photo, nice job!

i love the brightness! it reminds me of one the original instagram filters - i used to filter everything like this!

This blue looks great. I like such Sunny, cloudless days. Good shots. I wish you to return to these beautiful places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59