Mountain biking around YYC and a wipe out to kick off the year

in #photofeed6 years ago

DSC00319.jpg

Now that most of the ice is off the trails, I can get back in the saddle and get back on my mountain bike. This weekend was my first ride. Unfortunately I didn't think to take any pictures of the ride itself -so you're stuck with this mountain scenery from the area. If you're bored with mountain scenery - skip to the end and see the road rash.

If you're a mountain biker, Calgary is a great base to start your adventure. There are a few great areas to ride, that you can access from here. I personally enjoy cross country single track - grind the ups, earn the downs.

Bragg Creek

Bragg is my favorite place to ride. There's 2 main areas to start off. West Bragg and around Moose Mountain. West Bragg creek is fantastic. The trail head is now a paved parking lot, with bathrooms and trails leading off in all directions. Even when it's busy, you only ever see a couple people on the trails because there's so much territory to cover. I was out here yesterday and did my normal 15.8KM loop. It's fantastic.

Moose mountain area has cross country trails as well, but really this is where the downhillers go. That's not for me - I'm a big chicken. If you like that sort of thing - bring your big travel bikes and 2 trucks, and you can run shuttles all day to the top on an old logging road.

DSC00391.jpg

Canmore

There's lots of riding in an around Canmore (just outside of Banff) - too much to list - but the tourist info booth in town can help you out. Or if you're looking for one place to start lots of adventure, go to the Canmore Nordic center and push off from there. Lots of great riding. There's also a trail that will take you all the way to Banff and back. The last time I rode that one I was so out of shape both of my thighs seized from cramping, I barely made it back.

Crowsnest Pass

South of Calgary there are even more trails. In the Crowsnest Pass on the way to British Columbia, many of the old coal trails have been turned into riding adventures. There are tours that run from Calgary - but it's just as easy to go to the pass, find the Cinnamon Bear (for cinnamon buns) and ask around.

IMG_1721.JPG

Gnarly!

And if you've made it this far.....part of riding is wiping out. This year I got the wipeout over with quickly (although I'm sure there will be more). It's so dry at the moment the trails are almost worse than ice, and the pine needles on the trail add a layer of grease. The picture above is of my elbow - the shoulder and down my side are pretty bruised...but no one needs to see that ;)

It's so much fun though - I don't think I'll stop until I'm much older and much grayer ;) If you're ever in the area - and not too fast - I'd be happy to show you around.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-28T13:32:39
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1596.47/1600.00
Total Photos: 190
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It's very good

I can't believe you tortured us with that mountain scenery! ;)

That road rash is gnarly, indeed. When you're doing what you love, somehow those kind of things don't hurt that bad. :D Thanks for sharing!

When you get old enough you can get one of those mountain bikes that makes the noise... Where you live for the uphill runs and cringe on the downhill. Or pucker up, depending on the conditions.

Really does sound like a lot of fun. I gave up the bike more or less when I got my first MC, and missed a lot because of it.

Thanks for a great article. Road rash and all...

I used to ride most of the city trails in Calgary, but then we had kids... I need to get back on my mountain bike and get out there.

The mountains look amazing! Havnt wipeout in a while, hopefully dont happen to me soon lol Upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49