Almost perfectly still - Vermilion lakes

in #photofeed6 years ago

DSC00728.jpg

I've written about the vermilion lakes before - it's one of my favourite picture spots in the parks. It's really easy to get to and the views of Rundle mountain are unsurpassed. Mostly I think I like it as it's a great spot to practice photography. No matter how many times I shoot these lakes the results are always slightly different - weather changes, reflections, clouds etc. all make for awesome photographic opportunities.

DSC00733.jpg

Memories

Growing up we had a lot of these kinds of lakes in the foothills. Marshy bottom lakes that if you walked in, it would suck your feet in. We actually had one right behind our house. If you went for a swim, you'd never want to touch the bottom....too gross. That said, we use to build all sorts of rafts to float out into the middle. Sure enough we would always try to throw each other in. That's when we learned about leeches. 2 minutes in the lake and your legs would be covered in them.

I'm grossed out just thinking about it.

I can't imagine the vermilion lakes have many leeches...too cold. But I'm not going to test the theory. :)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-15T14:53:18
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1778.47/3200.00
Total Photos: 218
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 3.85 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow what a great lake picture

Stunning pictures. I would love to test the fishing in that still lake. I would not swim in it though, I hate feeling mud on the bottom with my feet, Shivers just thinking of it. LOL

I always kinda liked it. The mud would ooze up around your feet? Not so much with the leeches, though. I would prefer them to ticks.

I'm guessing you never did much frog gigging? Neither did I, but that's the sort of water frogs liked, too.

Thanks for the great photos.

We used to catch frogs as kids all the time...and terrorize the kids that hated them.

Beautiful colors and mood as always. Resteemed!

Sorry for the late reply. Been on the road. Thanks so much for the resteem :)

How dare you!? You betcha :)

Oh my that first one is a nice ol' shot.

Thanks muchly. Need to get back out soon and get some more shots.

Nice view, calm waters, perfect reflection and cloudy sky make really nice mood. Such conditions are not the most "impressive" in photography but it creates really atmospheric landscapes. Well done! I don't know why I dodn't Follow You earlier ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95