Sort:  

I felt exactly the same. Having experienced amazing but overcrowded sites like the Iguacu Falls, my expectations were quite low, but being in Peru of course I had to visit Machu Picchu! To my surprise, while there were many tourists at the entrance, they quickly spread all over the place. Machu Picchu was so amazing, the nature as well as the Incan city itself, and I was also lucky to experience different weather conditions. Did you also see how well the Incan drainage system is still working after a heavy rain? I also ended up staying the whole day and loved every minute, another highlight was climbing Machu Picchu mountain where I enjoyed this view: https://julianpetersphotography.de/photo/machu-picchu-mountain/

Yes I noticed the Incan drainage system, it's simply amazing that all the rain water just flew along the channels like that! I also climbed the Machu Picchu mountain! I think many others go climb that Huayna Picchu, so again I was afraid it would be over-crowded there, and I'm happy I chose the first one - there's almost no others on the trail, but it's getting pretty steep later. Your photo at the top looks awesome, and a bit scary standing there ;).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45