Shiprock "The Winged Rock"

in #photofeed6 years ago

Twenty seven million years ago these solidified lava formations are what fed a violent volcanic eruption called a mantle blowout. At that time there was about 3000 feet of earth above what we see now which has been carried away be erosion. This photo was taken while I was standing on top of one of the feeder dikes that supplied the volcano. This spot is considered sacred by the Navajo Nation and it is now against the law to stand on this formation. Looking ahead we see the actual volcanic throat which is beautiful and impressive. Shiprock is the most prominent landmark in Northwestern New Mexico USA, it stands 1583 feet above the surrounding plains and can be seen from many miles away.

shiprock view 7x5.jpg

The legend of the Navajo people says that Shiprock is all that remains of the giant bird that carried the Navajo from the North to New Mexico.

Sort:  

I so like this view

I found it interesting at the time, I like it to.

big rock

Simply put, but so true. Thank you!

Each rock can say something about the past of that place i mean what we can see today is just the remind of a beautiful place in the past, maybe full of life because a sea or a beautiful forest. Regards

That is very true and remarkable. The land holds records of the distant past. Thanks and greetings!

Cool, another shot of a great adventure that I remember! That was a fun day! And ahh. I never knew it was sacred land until now, also.. That's a fascinating legend.. I wonder if there's any truth to it since some people believe that some ancient mountains are petrified ancient structures.
Makes me wonder. It sure is a unique looking area. You got some nice clouds in there too and it really shows a lot of depth. Great shot dad!

That was a great adventure, the morning started off cloudy following a night time snowstorm and it cleared off while we were at Shiprock. We were lucky! Yeah the legend is pretty cool, thanks Paul!

The Rock was created million years ago. Is the volcano still alive under this rock? Anyway marvelous shot you have captured.

Geologist believe the volcano is extinct but are not 100 percent sure. Thanks for asking my friend!

Our world is very beautiful. without traveling will not be seen.

Yes that's right. it's good that we don't have to ride horses.

Thanks god for a nice world.You take a photography a nice moment.

Thank you! It's so important to get the right moment.

Love it! Such amazing depth... truly incredible. Thanks for the info too :) keep up the awesome pics

Hey thanks' it was a tricky shot because I didn't have much wiggle room. Sure was fun!

Awesome ! What a great job of it you did :) turned out amazing!

I’ve just posted a sunset photography post of my best of the week from China, where I am currently working. I’m not asking for upvotes; I just think you would enjoy checking it out :)

Thanks, I checked out your blog and I like it.

Awesome I’m glad you like it:)

Absolutely amazing photography..I like it

That's good to hear, Thanks!

Hello, @irvinesimages, I like how blue sky looks, with the color blanco of clouds, looking at this I feel at and relaxed and in peace

Hi Martha, it was exactly that, a very peaceful morning with a tremendous view. My son was with me so we have wonderful shared memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42