Luminance

in #photofeed6 years ago

On the summer Solstice, the sun is directly overhead as it's intense light finds openings in the chasm. Swirling red sandstone becomes illuminated within it's water formed chambers. Giving way to fascination and wonderment for those who are fortunate enough to see it.
This normally dry canyon receives rain water from thirty miles upstream and drains a large area of barren land. Deadly flash floods can occur unexpectedly and with little warning. Powerful and chaotic floodwaters have played a major role in the formation of this awesome visual treasure.

summer light 7x5.jpg

Upper Antelope Canyon is located in northern Arizona just outside the city of Page.
This image is being entered in deranged photography contest themed "capturing light".

Sort:  

I wish you could as well, but a picture is the next best thing. Greetings!

I wish you could as
Well, but a picture is the
Next best thing. Greetings!

                 - irvinesimages


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Another photographic magic! You are such a genious my friend. Your photographic magic always impress me.

This place is kinda like magic, thanks my friend!

Very beautiful photos!
How will you celebrate Christmas ???

Thank you, I will celebrate Christmas at home with my family eating good food. how about you?

This is one of the most beautiful caves on our planet
great photography @irvinesimages

I think you might be right about that!

I love this place. You captured it beautifully. Also, the contest theme reminds me of the work by James Turrell. The idea of capturing ancient light thrills me.

Thank you, I love it too. It's a rich history in the stone!

Oh my goodness! I would love to experience that in person some day! Stunning! 😍

It is a stunning place to visit. I hope you get to see it some day. Thanks!

wonderful post.thanks for sharing this post..

Thanks, I'm happy to share!

Cool shot! That sure was a neat spot to explore. Also.. That happens on the summer solstice eh? Good to know if I ever go back up there to film.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80