Golden Moonrise

in #photofeed6 years ago

This beautiful event is incredibly difficult to photograph. The moon rises in a different location every day, it only pauses for a day or two at the end of its cycle relative to its North or South axis. Because it rises behind the rock formation its hard to predict the right viewpoint to catch it in the middle of the chasm. If it does appear in the middle zone there's only minutes to change your viewpoint. If its off to the right or left its hidden until it appears over the top at which time its to late. I have only achieved this a few times after a dozen or more rigorous attempts spanning many years. The timing of the sunset relative to the illumination of Cathedral Rock is a critic variable to overall success and one must rely on chance. This opportunity only presents itself a couple times a year. Clouds in front of the sun can easily ruin the show. I am grateful for the achievement.

#109 golden moonrise lab 4x6.jpg

Sort:  

What a nice catch! Good work on shooting that beautiful sight!

Thanks again grizzman.

wow Irvine you go to some amazinzg places how long does it take to get there ?

Harj

Hello Harj , This photo location is about a quarter mile as the crow flies from my home. I think it took about 20 minutes to hike up a brush filled canyon in a race against time trying to offset the rise time of the moon, once I hit the ridge I followed an ancient Indian trail south to pinpoint the moon behind the center spires.

This photo really is spectacular! I saw it on your son's feed (@apolymask) where he was tooting your horn:) I told him what a good son he was and that I had to check your blog out..I'm always amazed by good photography (I'm a snap and shoot off my phone, type of gal:). Cheers!

Thanks Lynn for the thoughtful reply.

oh you're welcome! You deserve it after attempting a photo over a span of many years:) Patience truly is a virtue!

Patience and perseverance can bring great results.

Great shot :) Definitely framing quality :)

Thanks, Alex this is my magic.

There is no way anyone can deny that :)

Hi, I've found your post from #apolymask, this is true art, your photography skills are amazing.

Great reply, much appreciated.

this is a great setup. location, lighting. so good.

Right on Dimitar.

excellent landscape and awesome mood. love it ! so successful shot. congratulations my friend

I appreciate your attention to mood, Thanks

Such an amazing shot. For some reason I don't remember this one. And.. I've said it before, but.. This deserves a lot more views. It's frustrating for me to see such great artwork and only a couple comments.

Well that's the nature of this beast I think. I've been here for just a month and have spent a lot of time 'travelling' around the platform in the evenings; there are so many good blogs here, but so many unnoticed!

It wasn't always this bad, I mean.. It has always been difficult to an extent, but.. Now that there's just SOOO many more users and so much more content being uploaded all the time, it's much harder to get noticed. Also it's just sort of annoying to me cause some really poor content makes a lot of money and then you have gems like this picture go almost unnoticed in comparison.

I wish there was more of an effort by some of the bigger names to help the newer people, some people are doing good things like that, but not nearly enough in my opinion.. This platform would skyrocket much more in my opinion if more at the top helped more at the bottom instead of just trying to gain MORE for themselves. But it is what it is.. At least we can get paid something here at all unlike most other social media.

Yep I hear you...kinda mimics life really! I do notice a lot of people helping newbies and I'm appreciative of that for sure. I think you're right too about so many new users here; the shear numbers makes it difficult to be noticable. I guess in the end it's about connections such as this...genuine conversation/discussion that makes people memorable. The nonsense posts will hopefully drift to the bottom and get stuck in the sludge:) Cheers!

It does. In a lot of ways. I think technology becomes an extension of ourselves and especially social media of this sort.. And when money is involved. Heh. And yeah you do make an important point in regards to socializing and making good personal connections and interacting in that sense. You will do a lot better on this site and really any social media if you can filter through the fluff and meet good people!
And yup.. I generally agree in regards to the last part of what you said as well, though unfortunately many good ones get lost as well. But with enough persistence(or money) you can increase your odds!

I could not agree with you more Paul, Thanks.

very beautiful photo, it looks very beautiful, and very rare. @irvinesimages

Thanks, Its more rare than you could know.

yes i do not know exactly, but i've read your post, i translate j my language @irvinesimages

What I meant by my reply is that nobody else may be able to get this shot in your lifetime. If someone does It would probably be pure luck. Thanks again for your interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85