Off to Iceland

in #photofeed6 years ago

Hey guys, one of my dreams finally came tru: I'll be spending the next 10 days together with @agniese in the land of hard-to-pronounce volcanos and stunning glaciers. April in Iceland still means winter, and thus, I assume there won't be as many tourists. So, fingers crossed that the weather will cooperate with us.

20 minutes before landing
DSC_0442-01.jpeg

Equipment-wise, I took the following with me:

Lumix G80
Olympus 12-40mm f2.8 Pro - great lens for all types of photography
Lensbaby 56mm f/1.6 for surreal landscapes
Hoya 10-stop ND filter for blurring water and clouds
Røde VideoMicro if I decide to shoot videos

What I didn't take is my laptop - I'm traveling with hand luggage only, so there was no space for it. For editing on the go, Snapseed should do.

On my way to Iceland, I spent about a day in my beloved Copenhagen. Man, it felt good to be back here, even though it was for such a short time. Below are a few shots, which I took today before my flight.

Whenever you go to Copenhagen, you have to take a picture of Nyhavn. There's no other way around
1170584-01.jpeg

Nyhavn from another angle
1170582-01.jpeg

You know my obsession metro stations. This is Kongens Nytorv
1170591-01.jpeg

So long!


Københavns lufthavn
DSC_0434-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Enjoy dear... looking forward to your new photos...you know I like them!

Yeyyy! Iceland is amazing. Have e wonderful trip and bring back great memories and pictures! :)(:

Thank you so much, Eva ^^

So so so cool!!! Literally.... Brrrrr.... Ha ha... This one is really high on my bucket list.. Really looking forward to seeing your pictures.. I hope this time of year is good for the Northern Lights and with 10 days you should have a good window of opportunity to see them... Have a blast man...

There are no Northern lights during this time of the year, unfortunately, but the the landscapes compensate for it. Yesterday, I explored some abandoned structures from WWII that were nestled between a lake and mountain that looked like a huge wall. It made me think for a moment about the wall from game of thrones, lol 😂
Thanks, man!

Sounds amazing!! You should do some posts about it when you get back. Enjoy man!

I'm sure you'll get great pictures in Iceland.
I can not wait to see them dear friend :)

Thank you, my friend. So far, it looks like wherever you point the camera, there's something to take pictures of :)

Have a wonderful trip Dan! Say hello to @agniese :)

If you've never seen the movie The Secret Life of Walter Mitty - you must. One of my favorite movies of all time. It's set in Iceland.

To see the world, things dangerous to come to, to see behind walls, draw closer, to find each other, and to feel. That is the purpose of life.

That's what to experience there .....enjoy the journey!

Beautiful shots of Copenhagen. You'll have to share your love for this place sometime.

You have Hello from her too :)

Oh yes, I have seen it and I remember that it was incredibly beautiful. But I am not sure I knew it was set in Iceland 😊

I did a post on Copenhagen once, but there's a lot more to tell about this place. I'll do another one - I just need to go there and spend a weekend taking photos.

Thank you, Deb!

Awesome! I’m so excited for you guys. Have a wonderful time!

Thank you, Lisa! 😊

Have fun, and take lots of photos! Iceland looks like an amazing place to explore. I was only ever in the airport there, though, on an awful eight-hour layover.

Nice en-route photos, too. The jet engine is especially nice!

I think I could have taken an even better photo of the jet en engine if I used my camera and not the phone :)) I was too lazy to take it out.

8 hours layover? Wow, you could have easily explored a bit - Keflavik is 30 minutes waking from the airport. But I guess you stayed in the transfer area.

Thank you so much, Mark!

Island its so nice a have just Ben on the air port there. bot some day am going to. its a very unique country have a nice tripp.

Thank you, my friend. It seems that a lot of travelers from North America make connections at the airport in Keflavik. Are you into biking? I wonder if mountain biking is popular here.

Yes, I am a cyclist in my heart. island is excellent on biking https://icebikeadventures.com/#daytrips
ye a next time am going to do a "Stopover" a island air has the same price on the ticket if u say a few days or u go the same day.

Snapseed and the Lensbaby, what else would you need? :) Enjoy your trip!

Thanks, man! 🙏

Iceland must be a beautiful place and I guess you only find out, once you been there. I never did, but my daughter spent nearly three weeks there with her former Icelandic schoolmate, last year. She was overwhelmed by the beauty of that country and the islandic warm-hearted friendship.
I wish you a wonderful time in the land of the hard-to-pronounce volcanos. 😉

So far, my impression is that Icelandic people are extremely nice. Strangers greet you on the street, there were even a couple of kids that tried to have a conversation with us :) Thank you, Patrick!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78