Home

in #photofeed6 years ago

While walking in the very center of Bucharest some ten days ago, my face was suddenly buffeted by a freezing damp side wind. I slowed down and turned my head in its direction; through the dark concrete passage, I could see a decaying inner yard, beautifully lit by the morning sun. The peeling yellow plasters, broken armature, shuttered concrete, and graffiti made for such a stunning sight! As I was pointing my camera at it, a person passed by me and entered the building. Maybe there were people living there, after all. To be honest with you, I too felt right at home there. I took a few pictures, and we continued on our way.

Home.jpg
Gear and Metadata: Panasonic Lumix G80 & Lensbaby 56mm f/1.6 @ f/4, 1/400 sec., ISO-800

Home is my entry for this week's Abandoned Shit contest organized by @customnature.

Do such places give you goosebumps?

Dan

Sort:  

Yeah, such places can give me goosebumps but not because I’m scared or I feel insecure. I’m just extremely excited to explore them, to immerse myself if their mystery, imperfection, beauty.
I love the shot! Well done, Dan! :)

Thank you, Agi! We are quite alike then - abandoned places and their mysteries attract me like magnets :)

Yeah, we're both freaks ;) :P

You really, really are. 🤪

Oh, I'm blushing. Thank you, Lisa. :D

Great photo! And a new contest for me...😬

Thank you, Lisa! I think this will become my favorite contest on Steemit :) Do you have a suitable photo for this week?

Yes. And I just posted it. 😊

I replied....I really did....but it disappeared. I wondered where did it go?

What I asked you is what it was about that spot that made you feel at home? Was it the yellow of the sun making the decaying area look alive? Was it the girl walking into the area that intrigued you?

But, now I see you've sort of answered the question through @agniese.

I've gone to places that give me goosebumps. Not the fear kind but the overwhelming emotion kind where I want to laugh and cry - not manically - but just a quiet joy?? Usually that happens when I see something in nature or children or a photo that has a lot of passive expression.

Old churches, lonely piers, places like that as well.

A bug in the system?

I grew up in a place that was full of decaying streets and abandoned buildings. I and my friends loved exploring them :) I guess that's another reason why I love such places and why they make me feel at home.

Don't you feel a bit melancholic when seeing old churches and lonely piers?

No. I don't get sad or melancholic from weather or old churches and lonely piers. I do from other things, mostly people who are mean spirited and/or from life stuff.

I'm going to have to be on the look out for abandoned buildings - we don't have many around here that I can think of but now that it's in my mind to look for them I'll see them. It was the same with lichen....never paid attention to it until @kus-knee did a contest about it, now I see it everywhere.

I have some photos I took the other day of abandoned farm equipment, maybe that will count for an interesting post.

Home is where the heart is. People associate wealth with happiness but I met many people which are poor as church mouse and much much happier then those that have castles. Beutiful capture dear! Speaks a volumes!

Thank you, Di. I agree with you on this one. Wealth does not equal success or happiness, and it's true that more often than not, wealthy people are unhappy... and probably lonely. Do you feel at home in Australia?

Yes and no...Australia is great country but I miss my friends, I guess you can’t have all...

Probably not :/

This is awesome! The texture of the blacks in this photo are so good and so moody... you can faintly see the outline of her backpack... it's a great capture. Well done Dan, I'd be so happy with this shot!

Thank you kindly, @urbangladiator! What makes me happier is the fact that you liked the shot :) I could clearly see the outline of the backpack when I was editing the photo at home, but I am not able to see it now on the monitor in the office. And my company expects me to edit photos and videos on it 😁

Wow! Definitely a bit creepy place. Nice dynamics at this photo.

Thank you Miro! 😊🍻

Such a beautiful picture!

Glad that you liked it, Amy! 😊

Beloved Bucharest... Feels like home...
Talking about 'home' - your other home is calling you @irreverent-dan, are you coming to @copensteem! We're on !!! :)

I will be in Copenhagen on the 5th of April before going to Iceland on the next day. Flying back to Bulgaria the week before the Steem fest :) I will have to think it over!

You mean @copensteem right? No steemfest haha - at least not yet, Roeland hasn't announced anything yet ;)
We should meet up in CPH either way then, copensteem or not, just let me know ! :)

Haha, it will still be kind of a Steem fest, although a small one :) Yes, that's what I meant. I will let you know when I figure it all out. By the way, I will be staying at a friend's place in Amager on the 5th.

The use of light is inspiring. my dear friend.
I loved the composition and the mood of photography very much.
air shot. congratulations

Thank you kindly, @artizm 😊🙏

This is a beautiful shot. The textures in the back wall are great. Love the ASW contest by @customnature .

Thank you kindly, Robert! Glad that you liked it :) The ASW have been on my rader for quite some time now. Have you participated in the contest yet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65