East Germany's Automotive Industry Symbol

in #photofeed6 years ago

An old Trabant from the 70's parked right in front of a brutalist building from the 50's. It doesn't get better than this if you happen to have a weak spot for communist creations!

Trabant.jpg

This car has been parked (and mind you, this is not a parking place) in front of the apartment block for at least four years. Wonder why it is in a relatively good condition? I have seen the owner a few times cleaning the car and pumping the tires. Crazy, huh?

Have you ever seen a Trabant in real life? It's a bizarre car, to say the least.

Thanks for dropping by!
Dan

Sort:  

Our car is a '95 model and has a non functional right door and a decaying body. It still works.

It sounds a lot like the car me and my girlfriend have right now :) What kind of a car do you have?

Its a Toyota Tamaraw FX 95 model.
Now my father happened to fix the door and it is working now.
Pretty hard on the road because every bump I can feel with my aching back @irreverent-dan

I must say , I really really like this picture. There is something profound about it. That's gas that your man cleans it and pumps the tyres, but doesn't drive it... Like something from a comedy.. :o)

I am glad that you like it, man :) I must say that there's also something creepy about that :)

Ya, I really do, really arty.... There must be some story behind the man who keeps that car going... A bet, a lost relative they cant let go of.. Who knows?

I have never seen a Trabant in real life! But I had the same feeling when I saw Lada's all over Russia while traveling there - other era, and interesting cute little cars between all the brutalist and depressing architecture :D

Haha :) The Lada's are classic! My grandfather used to have a shiny blue Lada :) When did you travel in Russia?

Oh WOW! I love them, they are cute little cars. I traveld through Russia in 2015, stayed for a month. Trans Mongolia Express via Ulaanbaator to Beijing :D

Oh WOW - this must have been a fabulous experience! Did you traveled on your own and do you happen to speak Russian?

P.S. Sorry for the super-late reply :) I kinda took a very looong summer break from Steemit.

Ohhh - summer breaks are a great idea :D

Yes, it was fabulous indeed! I still need to convert all those stories (and pictures! ;-)) to Steemit :D

I don't speak Russian but I did learn the Cyrillic alphabet which was just enough to decipher hamburger, pasta bolognese, computer, auto, taxi, sushi... :')

If there was a "Muscovite", "Zaporozhets" or old "Zhiguli", I would think that this photo is from Russia during the USSR

Haha, absolutely! You can still some of those cars here :)

I have seen the owner a few times cleaning the car and pumping the tires.

That's hilarious @irreverent-dan. Maybe he takes the car out when you're not looking. 😂

Haha, yes! I usually walk this street in the morning on my way to work, so maybe he takes it out for a spin during the day 😁

I haven seen quite a few Trabants in my life, but none of them for years. I remember though the exhaust smoke smell of them and the noise :)

Haha, both the exhaust smoke smell and the noise are hard to forget! 😁

Great picture to capture the sense of place. Never heard of the car tho.

Thanks, dude! I think these cars never made it across the Atlantic :)

Such a sick capture!

Hi, dear Dan!
You still can see those cars in Romania, too :)
I'm planning a trip to Bulgaria, maybe we'll have a beer together. Are you on Discord to send you a private message?

Hey Cristina :) That's awesome! You can find me on discord as irreverent-dan#4220

I've written you :)

Yeah rarely I would still see them in Holland, but that was getting more and more like a collectersitem. But they look so cute!

So, if I understand correct....this dude is cleaning the car and maintaining it, but is never driving and it is one the sidewalk??

Weird dude,....weird

You understood correctly, lol :) I wonder how those that live there tolerate him 🙄

I'd be super surprised to see one of these cars in a Western country :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27