Turning off the lights

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

NessLakeIceFishingCabinIG.jpg

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated” Confucius

I have not been editing a lot of new photos recently, somehow it just has not seemed relevant. Motivation to do something is a strange thing. It comes in impulsive waves of intense focus, burns bright for a while, and eventually fades like the flickering light of a candle. Before you know it there are too many other fires burning around you to notice the light from that lone fading candle. One has to periodically turn off all the lights in order to appreciate the smaller flames and breathe new life into them.

I took this shot of an ice fishing hut on the lake in front of our house. People often wonder what could possibly motivate someone to head out in -30C (-22F) to stare at a small hole in the ice for days on end. It’s just their way of turning off the lights, so they can see what’s important in life.

I have however spent a lot of time out exploring the wilderness with my family over the past few months and have a back catalogue of photos to edit since winter. So you will hopefully see a flurry of Canadian photos up here, when the candle starts to burn a little brighter.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Dreamy photo. I always imagine something like this while listening to Garbarek

That looks really cool. And cold.

Yes it was cold!

Totally with you on the motivation thing. I wish I could control when I feel motivated to do things, but unfortunately that hasn't been how it works so far in my life!

Love this shot, looks so cozy.

Thanks. Its always like that for me. From borderline obsession to meh.... and back.

prettyyyyy <3 i love your photo

Shooweee...Resteemed.

Wow thanks guys ! Always appreciate your support; it means a lot to the community here on Steemit.

Sounds like how I work (in intense bursts though the length of the burst can range from very short to ages and then I die at the end for a little while).

Are those lines insanely low clouds D: I'm feeling cold just looking at it and I'm pretty sure it's not just because it is kind of cold here XD

goatsig

Thanks. I think a lot of people work like that. Makes a mockery of forced 9-5 work schedules where people have to be in there just to be seen.

Good👍👍

I can not imagine what it is to be in such a place! I admire people who adapt and live in these places. It's a beauty so different from my region! However, I can admire it. Thank you, this is a #imagenposible

I can relate to the lack of motivation and the fact it comes in waves. I'm currently waiting for the next set to come in.

The important thing is to have something you can ride when it comes!

wow this is such a stunning composition

bravo !!!

and -30 C - oh man

Thanks ! You get used to the temps after a while.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84