Lightning in Northen British Columbia

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

A shot from the severe lightning storm over Prince George last week in Northern British Columbia. We had a beautiful display looking back towards it out at Ness Lake although we lost power for a couple of hours. I have a few other shots from the storm I will edit up over the next week.

I took this shot from a floating dock so I could not use my preferred long exposure timelapse techniques to capture the lightning as the dock was shaking up and down with the storm. To overcome this I shot using a very fast lens (Sigma Art 50mm f1.4) and used a 1/320 exposure time at ISO 1600. I don't have a lightning sensor other than my eyes so I just manually let off the shutter in burst mode when I saw a burst of lightning. The end result here is 3 of the 1/320 exposures blended into a single image.

NessLakeLightning1.jpg

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

amazing capture

What a place for columbia that's awesome

This is British Columbia not Columbia.

Awesome clicks 🤗💙
Upvoted and resteemed

Epic photo. I love your article.

Thank you!

waooooooooo! too nice click sir..nature's dangerous creation leads to marvelous beauty.

Beautiful .. well done
Great photos .. It seems a really wonderful trip
Thanks for sharing..

That is a wonderful shot.!! Will be waiting for next set of clicks from this trip.
Meanwhile, I notice so many technical terms and settings used within the article. I know a pro photographer will understand it all. I want to be the one some day. Could you please point me to a beginner level knowledge base to understand the basics?

Google is best for the basics. If you have specific questions I can answer them.

@intrepidphotos As about Northen British Columbia As this aggravation floats westbound, it might enter a zone of low breeze shear and start to build up some turn late this week Wind shear is the adjustment in wind course and increment in speed at various layers of the atmosphere.Steering winds are probably going to increment.

Unreal dude, this is awesome. Resteemed!

Wow thanks guys ! Glad to see your still rocking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29