Lhotse Face

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

If you ever feel like certain issues in your life are becoming too important; go walk amongst the Himalayas for a few weeks and see how significant they seem.

The summit of Lhotse rises to a lofty 8,516 metres (27,940 ft). The shot was taken from half way between Dingboche and Chhukung. This was the only bit of sky visible at the time and we had seen nothing but cloud for a few days. Everest Region, Nepalese Himalayas, Nepal. Taken on Fuji Velvia slide film.

Rob Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

this photo are so nice WOW ! Check my norwegian photos ! :D

Thanks and welcome to steemit. Just warning you that people look down on 'begging' others to look at your work on the platform and often flag people for it.

Upvoting your own comments isn’t too popular, either.

what an amazing adventure that must have been. Really lovely photo, congrats on being a winner.

Thanks. Its a special part of the world. I appreciate your support !

That much have been amazing to witness in person, to feel the sense of scale!

Mate you should get out to Nepal one day. Humbling experience.

Oh, I would love to. I enjoy reading about those who try to climb these giants, though I have no desire to do so myself - I would be content to photograph from the valleys below!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This is amazing... and that was also what I needed to hear! I was missing looking at your work and reading you my dear friend! Cheers!

Good to see you here mate ! Your my first recruit !

I've never been to the Himalayas but it certainly look like one of the best places to meditate and really put things in perspective. Stunning picture!

Yes they are so awe inspiring. Thanks for the kind comments.

I have just discovered your blog today and you have really amazing content. Great job!

Himalaya back to 1988, where I used to live with tibetan people 4 months... My passport has been hold back by the chinese authority then because they though I was tibetan with false passport ! thank you for this lovely mountain's face !

That is an amazing (albeit scary) story. And a cute photo.

Wow what a shot! Incredible, must have been on a very long lens? I'm guessing around 1000mm? Thanks for sharing love the film look

Thanks. It was actually only a ~280mm lens. It was shot on a Canon EOS 300 film body with a Sigma 70-200 f / 2.8 with a 1.4 teleconverter (200 x 1.4 ~ 280mm). Its just a very very big mountain. The main face of Lhotse falls for almost 4km vertically.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28