American Marten

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

American Marten (Martes americana), also known as a Pine Marten, in the snow on Hudson Bay Mountain near Smithers in Northern British Columbia. Martens normally eat small mammals such as squirrels and rodents. They are however related to the wolverine and capable of hunting much larger snowshoe hares and marmots.

I was lucky enough to see this guy out of the corner of my eye while I was snowboarding. He ran down a tree well; so I boarded over, took my backpack off, got my camera out, changed out the wide angle lens for the 400mm, and waited. After sitting there quietly for a few minutes he then popped his head up again. Taken with a Canon EOS 6D Mark II and Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM at ISO 1600, 400.0 mm, f/6.3, 1/1000s .

Rob Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

wowwwm great animal portrait . congratulations Rob :)

A speed of execution is required to have a beautiful photo taken on the spot. A spontaneous photo is much more likely to be successful, Combine (dissimilar or even opposing elements that are not naturally united

Thanks. Like most things in life its preparation and practice which allows what looks spontaneous to be successful.

Super cute, thanks for sharing!

Where did you take this photo?

Whoa, I never seen an animal like that, amazing.

Worth taking the camera out ! Great shot !

I've found you in a comment in @photovisions and you have now a new fan :D I love your photography and your "Love Life, Love Photography" signature :)

Glad your found my work. Hope my feed proves to be interesting for you.

Cute capture! Excellent timing. Great winter image ,Rob. and perfect for this winter theme. Voted

Great capture!!

Amazing capture. Your photography is excellent:)

Thanks . Too kind of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67