Camera Rotation Light Painting Swirl

in #photofeed4 years ago

Light Painting during the blue hour is a bit challenging yet super rewarding when the sky lurks through in this super deep blue color. You'll see here one of those incredible moments.

2020_04_06_Forest-LP (11)-2.jpg

What happened here?
When I arrived at this wonderful place at the edge of the forest near Berlin I was fascinated by the tree logs. It was so nice that they were pulled up on both sides. My initial first post from that spot, probably displays that enthusiasm.

Today I want to share another highlight from that night. After testing the camera rotation for a few times I found a great position and axes to rotate around (Image2). From there I know the rotation would give me an extended tree log feeling in the frame. As one of the first tests, I wanted to create a swirl. For that I used a prototype of the new flashlight from LightPaintingParadise. I was designed by Dennis Berka. As you can see it has a nice strobe mode.
so I would stand with the nice plexy glass rod with the flashlight blinking and on the trigger I would spin around my axes. After that I then light up the logs in red and after rotating the camera 180° I would light them up in yellow and stop the exposure after 43 seconds.

When you are interested in the actual making of scroll down and you can see me swirling.

2020_04_06_Forest-LP (1)-2.jpg
Image 2 - Finding the rotation point and - look for the right settings

Well there is a Making of video which is in most parts recorded by Natalia Cerqueira. Some of it was by me, as well as the edit.

I hope it was informative and maybe also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61269.43
ETH 2982.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70