2 AM Icelandic Sunrise/Sunset

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Before I was going to go to sleep on that night in Iceland, I saw an incredibly beautiful sunrise/sunset. I decided to make my way near the water to get some shots of the sunset with the horizon. I took these photos on the Westfjords, near the town Bolungarvik. This is one of the most northernmost places in Iceland, therefore having the most daylight in mid-summer. Time was about 2 AM when I was there. I said sunrise/sunset because it is both. Basically, it was a polar day at the time. Sun stayed near the horizon for several hours, going below the sea level and came back up shortly after.

The sight was absolutely stunning. I especially liked the composition of the sunset and cliff in the clouds. The hillside you can see over the water is huge, totally uninhibited, nowadays nobody lives there anymore, only true nature lovers go to this place to hike. Watching my photos and writing about this makes me horribly miss this place. Anyway, here are the shots.

DSC_0165.jpg


DSC_0163.jpg


DSC_0157.jpg


DSC_0171.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

Moody! nice shots, love the coast line with high cliffs. Well done!

Thanx! I was incredibly lucky to be there with these sunlight conditions. It was even more epic with bare eyes, photos sometimes won't quite describe it fully.

Those are sweet! Resteemed!

Huge thanks! Yes, I never hoped for sky patterns like this.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=2-am-icelandic-sunrise-sunset


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38