Sort:  

Stunning shot. National Geographic worthy.

Wow. That's a huge compliment. Thanks @alevaskye

I second that Gaby - resteemed!

Thanks @meanmommy33 coming from you It means I'm doing a good job on my posts.

Not just with your posts but your work in general - your website is amazing !!! applause

I third that!

WOW!! Powerful!

Thanks. Powerful person behind the mask!

Beautiful picture Gaby and a post to think about... By watching the news one would conclude that the world is going in a very wrong direction. However, a lot of studies are actually showing the oposite, we are slowly learning on our mistakes. Slowly...

I hope what you say is true. Some days I wake up feeling like everything sucks, and some days I feel like there is still hope. Today is option 1... ha ha ha

My cure for option 1 is a hike through the forrest :)

That sounds like a wonderful option!!

I'd like to believe those studies but I'm not feeling it and I don't watch the news. Communities and society on a whole has taken a huge shift and not for the better from what I see. I'm starting to feel like I was born into the wrong time. Here's hoping though...

Well, I don't believe you think that way because I've seen your images and they are not that pesimistic ;)

: ) No I don't... I have tried my best to pull away from society as it was really starting to do my head in. I can't tell you the last time I watched the news. Although I also don't believe half (probably more) of what they say as I believe the industry is just full of corruption (like many other industries). I turned my mobile phone off 2 years ago and have never looked back, love the feeling of freedom! Before starting on steemit I was heavily reducing my time spent on Facebook and have spent the last 5 months deleting a lot of my older posts as they now come up as memories. I don't want it there anymore and I pretty well much feel done with it. I prefer to focus on the good, to make my own choices and do the best I can in all aspects of my life.

While one could say steemit is another social media platform, none of my personal friends are on here or anyone else I know and I kinda like it like that. The one thing I have noticed is how nice, warm and "real" the people are that I have found to associate myself with. It has only been positive so far, I'm really enjoying it! : )

That's what I like the most about Steemit so far... No one I know in real life is here :)

Not that there is anything wrong with the people in my life... well maybe a couple of them... but it's different to say facebook where it is everyone you know, or should know. : )

I can for sure relate to this image, (not in the same way of what this image represents) but in my own personal way... I think this image could reach out to many and hit a chord. Gabbyoraa is undoubtedly a talented woman... and while her messages, photos and missions are powerful, strong and brave (I take my hat off), I think so many of us could relate to images such as these in our own personal lives. While I can relate personally, the true story behind the image just makes you count your blessings all the more!!

Wow, I have no words. Thank you for all the compliments. And I agree with all you have said in so many levels. It's been hard years for the entire world. Sometimes I wonder though, are we getting worst or is it just that now we know more what happens? Do you get what I mean? Maybe everything was as bad before but since there was no internet and people with cellphones we just didn't find out. Or you could see it in a deeper level. I would like to think that there are more conscious people, waking up and noticing the truth. Like a old room full of dirt that you install a lightbulb. You now turn on the light and see all the dirt. It's not that it's dirtier, it's just that now thanks to the light you see it.


I've always felt that everything we do has to have an impact on any level, at least it's what I try to obtain with my photos. Specially the ones from the protest. During those months last year, I used my instagram to pass on my message of tolerance and empathy. We had these guys risking their lives and then you'd find people posting photos of parties at the same time and on the other hand, you had the group of people complaining that this form of protest didn't work so you would just have a constant negative feedback from people that are suppose to be on the same side. Honestly I think it's the reason why we didn't succeed in the protests last year. So to make it short. Let's do things to make this world a better place. Even if its a photo, or just a post on steemit!

Oh you are so welcome and so deserving!! To answer your question about are things getting worse or are we just better informed... I think both. For sure mobile technology has brought everything to our attention, whether we need to know about it or not but if I look back 5 years ago, 10 years ago, 20 years ago... the world has changed greatly I think. People have changed, values have changed, there's so many more pressures but people are also a lot more expectant. Manners, good behavior and respect have been lost somewhere along the way. Not in all cases of course and I don't have to travel the world to see that, I can see that in my our community, my own city and it's so disheartening.

Truth is one of those things isn't it... I have found from my experience if it is too hard to swallow it's easier to just call it false. Or shrug it off and ignore the facts or for what feels like the minority, stand up and listen. That usually requires change though and people don't do well with change. While I would rather know the truth, it is at times a burden as you can't unknow something. It's what you do with that information that defines you though. I love the term "waking up"... it just never seems to happen fast enough though does it.

I think good people with good hearts will do good deeds!

Oh... and it's not just a photo on steemit... an action had to take place for a photo to be taken : ) You're sharing your knowledge, knowledge is power and power is great if it is in the right hands!

¿Cómo olvidar lo vivido esos días y el coraje de esos muchachos?

Yo nunca lo olvido. Y cada día que pasa me duele más.

Lo que a mi me transmite esa mirada es: Puedes ver lo que transmiten mis ojos? pueden lograr ver lo que tengo en mi corazón? pueden ver mi dolor?, qué existo? saludos

Una mirada que no se esconde detrás de la máscara.

Love this shot and the story behind it. I'm glad there are people who stand against tyranny.

Thanks! It's one of my favorite photos from last year. Glad there are still good people too. But there's a question that still remains, why do people vote for tyranns in the first place?

Many reasons I think. fear, greed, belief....

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Gaby Oraa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

this is a fantastic shot! I can't wait to learn from you. Hopefully my camera will arive early next week!
Edit: I hadn't read the words when I commented - OMG, there is so much more feeling behind this picture than I even imagined. I really feel your heart was poured into this post

Thanks! It's a subject that really gets to me. We lost to many lives last year and it some times feels like it was for nothing. We have to learn from our mistakes. Not just Venezuela, but the whole world!

wow excellent portrait and wonderful composition.. liked bw tones ! congrats..
have a nice day ... my friend :)

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

Hola @gabyoraa me encantan tus fotos y tus post, me tome el atrevimiento de nominarte a un reto fotográfico de 7 días, espero puedas participar, la información está en mi blog.

¡Saludos!

@Vickyst

Wow gracias @vickyst ya lo veo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23